OER by Department: Business Management

The content of this textbook is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for the Advanced Level Business/Technical Mathematics. The textbook covers nine groups of learning outcomes organized in chapters. The first three chapters cover the core learning outcomes: 1. Operations with Real Numbers, 2. First Degree Equations and Inequalities, 3. Equations and their Graphs. The remaining chapters cover the following six topics: 4. Systems of Equations, 5. Trigonometry, 6. Health Option, 7. Finance, 8. Data Analysis 1, 9. Data Analysis 2.

Provides an introduction to a variety of topics in business math including simple and compound interest, annuities, payment schedules, mortgages, and more. This supplemental textbook covers topics from Chapters 8 to 13 inclusive, adapted from the original Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook by J. Olivier and Lyryx Learning Inc. providing extra resources, examples, and storytelling activities.

This book serves as a companion to Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook Abridged (see above), featuring instructor resources centered on storytelling techniques and case studies that align with the examples in the companion OER.

Aims to teach economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept. For questions about this textbook please contact textbookuse@umn.edu

Covers a variety of topics: The Foundations of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Structuring Organizations, Operations Management, Motivating Employees, Managing Human Resources, Union/Management Issues, Marketing: Providing Value, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.

Combines open access content for introductory courses in business communication and supplements this content with new material on personal and social identity; rhetorical listening; inclusive language; storytelling; and territorial Land Acknowledgements. The textbook is focused on a Canadian audience of first-year Commerce students.

Includes a number of features such as learning objectives, exercises, real world examples, key terms, and post-chapter assessments. Adapted from Business Communication for Success to reduce size and scope of original publication and to add Canadian examples.

First-year business communications course composed of 13 weeks of coursework. Establishes business communication fundamentals such as delivering bad news, writing informational reports, creating persuasive messages, designing and delivering professional presentations, and preparing for employment searches.

Designed for instructors who have the option of delivering the content either synchronously or asynchronously, depending on the needs of their classes and students. Students will explore and practice concepts such as their own writing beliefs, genres, audience analysis, storytelling, forming arguments, evaluating sources, persuasion, and verbal and written presentation skills.

Covers entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management. The chapter on Social Media and Communication contextualizes the importance and implications of various platforms and communications methods.

Presents novel research results in the dynamics of values, rationality, and power in organizations. Readers will gain insights and frameworks to understand others’ actions within their environment. Armed with the knowledge of how values, rationality, and power influence people’s actions, readers will gain tools they can use to navigate the complexity of organizations to foster wise action.

Covers key topics related to professional communication using a psychological lens. Explores how communication and workplace behaviours are influenced by individual differences in emotion motivation, learning, memory, decision-making behaviour, and personality as they relate to communication and interpersonal relationships in the Canadian workplace.

Covers five major organizational behaviour areas including managing individuals, managing groups, power and politics, conflict management, and organizational change.

First-year course covering the fundamental topics of marketing including (but not limited to) marketing principles, market research, consumer behaviour, customer satisfaction, branding, advertising, supply chain management, marketing plans and international marketing. The course is based upon a 15 week, 45 hour delivery of the content.

An introductory financial first year accounting course. The course is designed to cover the basics of financial accounting using numerous examples to reinforce the basic concepts. Topics for the course include an introduction to accounting, the accounting cycle, internal control and cash, receivables, inventories and financial statements.

This course will introduce you to financial accounting in preparation for more advanced business topics. Recording financial information in a standard format allows managers, investors, lenders, stakeholders, and regulators to make appropriate decisions. In this course, we will look at the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and Statement of Shareholders' Equity. You will learn how to compile and analyze these financial statements from the accounting data you have created.

This course studies basic concepts of financial and managerial reporting. The viewpoint is that of readers of financial and managerial reports rather than the accountants who prepare them.

Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical

Adaptation of Thomas K. Tiemann’s book, Introductory Business Statistics.

Examines the current landscape of tourism and hospitality with the focus on fostering the skills and knowledge to develop innovative, sustainable products to rebuild the distressed industry. The course is designed to be delivered in a blended learning context with a synchronous component (face-to-face/virtual) and an asynchronous component (completed outside scheduled class time).

In this course, we introduce the concept of environmental ethics, a philosophy that extends the ethical concepts we traditionally apply to human behavior to the natural world. We will study the history of environmental ethics, the concept of environmental justice, and explore how our views about the natural world have changed over time.

Chapters include: Diversity and Multiculturalism; Recruitment; Compensation and Benefits; Retention and Motivation; Training and Development; Employee Assessment; Working with Labor Unions; Safety and Health at Work; International HRM, and more.

"We discussed the basics of managing human capital in BUS208: Principles of Management. In this course, we introduce more advanced topics, such as how to identify your business's needs to carry out a proper recruitment and selection process."

Covers employee motivation, empowerment, and conflict resolution.

"We begin this course by studying the conceptual framework of negotiations, as it applies to all areas of negotiation in the public and private sectors. We will focus on business negotiation skills and strategies designed to maintain healthy business relationships. Specifically, we will explore the concepts, processes, strategies, and ethical issues related to negotiation and appropriate conduct in multicultural business contexts."

Presents novel research results in the dynamics of values, rationality, and power in organizations. Readers will gain insights and frameworks to understand others’ actions within their environment. Armed with the knowledge of how values, rationality, and power influence people’s actions, readers will gain tools they can use to navigate the complexity of organizations to foster wise action.

Provides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout. With flexible integration of technical instruction and data, this title prepares students for current practice and continual evolution.

In this course, you will be exposed to a number of different sub-fields within finance. You will learn how to determine which projects have the best potential payoff, to manage investments, and even to value stocks. In the end, you will discover that all finance boils down to one concept: return. If I give you money today, how much money will I get back in the future? Though the answer to this question will vary widely from case to case, by the time you finish this course, you will know how to find the answer.

Financial Management studies corporate finance and capital markets, emphasizing the financial aspects of managerial decisions. It touches on all areas of finance, including the valuation of real and financial assets, risk management and financial derivatives, the trade-off between risk and expected return, and corporate financing and dividend policy. The course draws heavily on empirical research to help guide managerial decisions.

Focuses on the foundations of entrepreneurship and starting a business. The text is divided from the theoretical underpinnings of the discipline; entrepreneurship traits and characteristics and the activities that precede starting a business.

Outlines the practical and tactical ins and outs of how to sell technical products to a sophisticated marketplace. How to build and manage a sales force; building compensation systems for a sales force, assigning territories, resolving disputes, and dealing with channel conflicts. Focus on selling to customers, whether through a direct salesforce, a channel salesforce, or building an OEM relationship.