LibGuides: OER by Department: Hospitality

HOSP 1310: Introduction to Tourism

Textbooks

Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd Edition
Authors: Morgan Westcott, BCIT, and Wendy Anderson, Selkirk College
Publisher: BCcampus

Courseware

Hospitality & Tourism Industry: Canvas Course Shell
Author: Velda Arnaud, Blue Mountain Community College

HOSP 1360: Food and Beverage Operations

Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd Edition
Authors: Morgan Westcott, BCIT, and Wendy Anderson, Selkirk College
Publisher: BCcampus

HOSP 1370: Accommodation/Lodging Industry

Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd Edition
Authors: Morgan Westcott, BCIT, and Wendy Anderson, Selkirk College
Publisher: BCcampus

HOSP 1410: Principles of Service Management

Textbooks

Customer Centric Strategy
Author: Kerri Shields, Centennial College
Supplementary materials: PowerPoint slides

Book Chapters

Chapter 9: Customer Service
From: Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd Edition

Online Courses

CUST105: Customer Service
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 25 hours
more...less...
Designed to teach you about the customer service work environment, methods for successful customer relations, and career advancement tactics.

HOSP 1610: Business Communications

Textbooks

Introduction to Professional Communications
Author: Melissa Ashman, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Professional Communications: A Common Approach to Work-place Writing
Authors: Jordan Smith, et al.
Publisher: eCampus Pressbooks
Fundamentals of Business Communication
Author: Venecia Williams
Business Communication for Success
Author: Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
Building Relationships With Business Communication
Author: Linda Macdonald
Publisher: Dalhousie University Libraries Digital Editions
Supplementary materials: H5P interactive content
more...less...
Combines open access content for introductory courses in business communication and supplements this content with new material on personal and social identity; rhetorical listening; inclusive language; storytelling; and territorial Land Acknowledgements. The textbook is focused on a Canadian audience of first-year Commerce students.
Principles of Management for Leadership Communication
Publisher: University of Arkansas Libraries (adapted from a work published by University of Minnesota Libraries)
Management Communication
Authors: Lisa Thomas, Julie Haupt, and Andy Spackman, Brigham Young University
Publisher: The Marriott School at Brigham Young University
Communication for Business Professionals - Canadian Edition
Author: Ontario Business Faculty and eCampusOntario Program Managers
Supplementary materials: Open online course
more...less...
Includes a number of features such as learning objectives, exercises, real world examples, key terms, and post-chapter assessments. Adapted from Business Communication for Success to reduce size and scope of original publication and to add Canadian examples.
Advanced Professional Communication
Authors: Melissa Ashman and Arley Cruthers
Publisher: eCampus Pressbooks
Business Writing For Everyone
Author: Arley Cruthers
Publisher: Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Business Writing Style Guide
Authors: John Morris and Julie Zwart
Publisher: Oregon State University
Business Presentation Skills: Speaking & Presentation Skills for Business
Authors: Lucinda Atwood and Christian Westin

Courses & Courseware

Business Communications
Author: Melissa Ashman, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Business Communications 2
Author: Karen McMurray, Coast Mountain College
more...less...
First-year business communications course composed of 13 weeks of coursework. Establishes business communication fundamentals such as delivering bad news, writing informational reports, creating persuasive messages, designing and delivering professional presentations, and preparing for employment searches.
Resources for a Business Communications Open Online Course
Authors: Arley Cruthers, Melissa Ashman, John Grant, Seanna Takacs, and Petti Fong
more...less...
Designed for instructors who have the option of delivering the content either synchronously or asynchronously, depending on the needs of their classes and students. Students will explore and practice concepts such as their own writing beliefs, genres, audience analysis, storytelling, forming arguments, evaluating sources, persuasion, and verbal and written presentation skills.
COMM101: Public Speaking
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 92 hours
PRDV008: Preparing and Delivering Presentations
Publisher: Saylor Academy
TIme: 22 hours

HOSP 1620: Hospitality Computer Applications

Textbooks

Intro to Microsoft Office
Authors: Abigail Rusu, et al.
Publisher: Maricopa Millions Grant
more...less...
This textbook will introduce the student to Microsoft windows, Word, Excel, Access and PowerPoint. The text covers basic concepts of creating word processing, spreadsheets, databases and presentation materials for the workplace.
Beginning Excel
Authors: Noreen Brown, et al.
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
more...less...
This textbook was written for a community college introductory course in spreadsheets utilizing Microsoft Excel. While the figures shown utilize Excel 2019, the textbook was written to be applicable to other versions of Excel as well. The book introduces new users to the basics of spreadsheets and is appropriate for students in any major who have not used Excel before. This textbook includes instructions for Excel for Mac also.
Using Excel in Business Math
Author: Lisa Koster
Understanding Document Accessibility: A Reference for Creating Accessible Office Documents
Authors: Digital Education Strategies, The Chang School
more...less...
Reviews a wide range of document authoring applications, including the tools they contain for creating accessible documents, and tests them to ensure they do not contain potential barriers. Learn how to create accessible word processed documents, spreadsheets, presentation slides, and PDF documents, among others, so they are accessible to everyone.

HOSP 1660: Technical Writing

Textbooks

Technical Writing Essentials – H5P Edition
Author: Suzan Last
Publisher: BCcampus
Supplementary materials: over 40 interactive H5P activities
Technical Writing Essentials
Author: Suzan Last
Publisher: University of Victoria
more...less...
Introduces readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.
Technical Writing
Authors: Allison Gross, et al.
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
more...less...
Focuses on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids.
Professional and Technical Writing
Author: Suzie Baker
Publisher: NSCC
Technical Writing
Author: Blake Pitcher
more...less...
A focus on the organization, development, and refinement of technical communications. Internal and external communications, including letters, memos, reports, and presentations are included. Exercises available in the text.
Mindful Technical Writing
Authors: Dawn Atkinson and Stacey Corbitt, Montana Technological University
Publisher: Montana University System TRAILS

Book Chapters

Chapter VI: Job Search Skills
From: Working in the Food Service Industry
more...less...
See VI. 26. Preparing a Resumé and VI. 27. Cover Letters.

Courses & Courseware

ENGL210: Technical Writing
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 86 hours
more...less...
Covers internal workplace communications, external business-to-business and business-to-consumer writing skills, presentations and how to use visuals effectively, writing clear instructions and process documents, and using social media effectively.
Technical Writing
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Author: Eric Adams, Debbie Levey, and James Paradis

HOSP 1810: Business Mathematics

Textbooks

Business/Technical Mathematics
Authors: Izabela Mazur and Kim Moshenko, Thompson River University
Publisher: BCcampus
more...less...
The content of this textbook is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for the Advanced Level Business/Technical Mathematics. The textbook covers nine groups of learning outcomes organized in chapters. The first three chapters cover the core learning outcomes: 1. Operations with Real Numbers, 2. First Degree Equations and Inequalities, 3. Equations and their Graphs. The remaining chapters cover the following six topics: 4. Systems of Equations, 5. Trigonometry, 6. Health Option, 7. Finance, 8. Data Analysis 1, 9. Data Analysis 2.
Fundamentals of Business Mathematics
Author: OER Lab, Ontario Tech University
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook Abridged
Authors: Sanja Krajisnik, Carol Leppinen, and Jelena Loncar-Vines
Supplementary material: Teacher's guide (see below)
more...less...
Provides an introduction to a variety of topics in business math including simple and compound interest, annuities, payment schedules, mortgages, and more. This supplemental textbook covers topics from Chapters 8 to 13 inclusive, adapted from the original Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook by J. Olivier and Lyryx Learning Inc. providing extra resources, examples, and storytelling activities.
Using Excel in Business Math
Author: Lisa Koster
Mathematics for Business
Author: Jonathan Brucks

Teacher's Guides

Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook Abridged – Instructor Resources
Author: Jelena Loncar-Vines
Publisher: Conestoga College
more...less...
This book serves as a companion to Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook Abridged (see above), featuring instructor resources centered on storytelling techniques and case studies that align with the examples in the companion OER.

HOSP 1860: Financial Accounting

Textbooks

Principles of Accounting, Volume 1: Financial Accounting
Authors: Mitchell Franklin, Patty Graybeal, and Dixon Cooper
Publisher: OpenStax
Introduction to Financial Accounting - 2021A
Authors: H. Dauderis, D. Annand, T. Jensen, Lyryx Learning; adaptation by Athabasca University
Publisher: Lyryx
Supplementary materials: Request multiple choice bank, instructional videos and additional resources (email info@lyryx.com)
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Author: Lolita Paff
Publisher: Pennsylvania State University

Courses & Courseware

Financial Accounting I
Author: Evan van Dyk, Coast Mountain College.
Includes lesson plans, instructor manual, course supplement guide, practice questions, assignments, tutorial videos and exams. Course readings include an open textbook for each topic.
more...less...
An introductory financial first year accounting course. The course is designed to cover the basics of financial accounting using numerous examples to reinforce the basic concepts. Topics for the course include an introduction to accounting, the accounting cycle, internal control and cash, receivables, inventories and financial statements.
BUS103: Introduction to Financial Accounting
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 72 hours
more...less...
This course will introduce you to financial accounting in preparation for more advanced business topics. Recording financial information in a standard format allows managers, investors, lenders, stakeholders, and regulators to make appropriate decisions. In this course, we will look at the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and Statement of Shareholders' Equity. You will learn how to compile and analyze these financial statements from the accounting data you have created.
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Author: Sugata Roychowdhury
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, assignments, and exams
more...less...
This course studies basic concepts of financial and managerial reporting. The viewpoint is that of readers of financial and managerial reports rather than the accountants who prepare them.

HOSP 1960: Introduction to Economics

Textbooks

Principles of Economics
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
more...less...
Aims to teach economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept. For questions about this textbook please contact textbookuse@umn.edu

HOSP 2360: Restaurant Operations

Text Books

Working in the Food Service Industry
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Supplementary materials: Request access to test bank
Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee

HOSP 2310: Food Production Principles

Textbooks

Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Working in the Food Service Industry
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Supplementary materials: Request access to test bank

HOSP 2370: Management Principles

Textbooks

Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management
Publisher: BCcampus
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
more...less...
Contents include: Inventory control, food costing, labour costing, budget and business planning, and more.
Principles of Management
From: Principles of Management
Authors: David S. Bright, Anastasia H. Cortes, Eva Hartmann, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary materials: Moodle Course Cartridge, text bank, study guide and review questions, videos, open online course (see below), and more
more...less...
Covers human resource management and strategic management, as well as behavioral areas such as motivation.
Principles of Management
Author: Tony DeFranco, Tompkins Cortland Community College

Online Courses

BUS208: Principles of Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 89 hours
Introduction to Management
Author: Scott van Dyk, Coast Mountain College
Includes syllabus, case studies, and tests
References the textbooks Principles of Management and Fundamentals of Business – Canadian Edition
more...less...
A first-year business course covering fundamental topics including organizational change, leadership, human resource management, ethics, and strategic management. The course is designed to introduce learners to management topics through the use of case studies which will be the focal point of discussions throughout the course.

HOSP 2460: Hospitality Law

Book Chapters

Chapter 11: Risk Management and Legal Liability
From Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd Edition
more...less...
Contents: 11.2 Risk Management Process, 11.3 Laws and Regulations, 11.4 Insurance, 11.5 Occupational Health and Safety in Tourism.
III. Employment Standards for B.C. Food Service Workers
From: Working in the Food Service Industry
more...less...
Contents: 10. About the Employment Standards Act, 11. Wages and Wage Statements, 12. Working Conditions, and 13. The B.C. Human Rights Code.

HOSP 2410: Human Resources Management

Textbooks

Human Resources in the Food Service and Hospitality Industry
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publisher: BCcampus
Human Resources Management – Canadian Edition
Authors: Stéphane Brutus and Nora Baronian
Human Resource Management: First Canadian Edition
Author: College of New Caledonia
Human Resource Management
Author: Laura Dias
more...less...
Chapters include: Diversity and Multiculturalism; Recruitment; Compensation and Benefits; Retention and Motivation; Training and Development; Employee Assessment; Working with Labor Unions; Safety and Health at Work; International HRM, and more.
Critical Employment, Ethical, and Legal Scenarios in Human Resource Development
Author: Claretha Hughes
Publisher: University of Arkansas Libraries

Book Chapters

Module 11: Human Resource Management
From: Introduction to Business
Author: Ann Sebeck, Bay College
Chapter 12: Managing Human Resources
From: Fundamentals of Business - Canadian Edition

Online Courses

BUS208: Principles of Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 89 hours
BUS301: Human Resource Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 88 hours
more...less...
"We discussed the basics of managing human capital in BUS208: Principles of Management. In this course, we introduce more advanced topics, such as how to identify your business's needs to carry out a proper recruitment and selection process."
PRDV225: Managing Employees
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 5 hour
more...less...
Covers employee motivation, empowerment, and conflict resolution.
BUS403: Negotiations and Conflict Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 82 hours
more...less...
"We begin this course by studying the conceptual framework of negotiations, as it applies to all areas of negotiation in the public and private sectors. We will focus on business negotiation skills and strategies designed to maintain healthy business relationships. Specifically, we will explore the concepts, processes, strategies, and ethical issues related to negotiation and appropriate conduct in multicultural business contexts."
PRDV230: Create a Workplace Conflict Resolution Policy
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 13 hours

HOSP 2470: Organizational Behaviour

Textbooks

Working in the Food Service Industry
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publisher: BCcampus
Supplementary materials: Request access to test bank
more...less...
See chapters: IV. Workplace Communication and Teamwork, and V. Organization and Self-Management.
Organizational Behavior
Authors: J. Stewart Black, David S. Bright, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary materials: QTI test bank, student resources, videos
more...less...
Covers entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management. The chapter on Social Media and Communication contextualizes the importance and implications of various platforms and communications methods.
Organizational Behavior
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
Developing Organizational and Managerial Wisdom – 2nd Edition
Author: Brad C. Anderson
Publisher: Kwantlen Polytechnic University
more...less...
Presents novel research results in the dynamics of values, rationality, and power in organizations. Readers will gain insights and frameworks to understand others’ actions within their environment. Armed with the knowledge of how values, rationality, and power influence people’s actions, readers will gain tools they can use to navigate the complexity of organizations to foster wise action.
Psychology, Communication, and the Canadian Workplace
Author: Laura Westmaas
Publisher: Fanshawe College Pressbooks
more...less...
Covers key topics related to professional communication using a psychological lens. Explores how communication and workplace behaviours are influenced by individual differences in emotion motivation, learning, memory, decision-making behaviour, and personality as they relate to communication and interpersonal relationships in the Canadian workplace.

Online Courses

BUS209: Organizational Behavior
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 83 hours
more...less...
Covers five major organizational behaviour areas including managing individuals, managing groups, power and politics, conflict management, and organizational change.

Workbooks

Organizational Behaviour Group Project Workbook
Authors: Christina Page, Lesley McCannell, and Andre Iwanchuk, Kwantlen Polytechnic University.

HOSP 2620: Introduction to Marketing

Textbooks

Introduction to Marketing I
Authors: NSCC Faculty and Lumen Learning
Publisher: NSCC
Introduction to Marketing II
Authors: NSCC Faculty and Lumen Learning
Publisher: NSCC
Principles of Marketing
Author: BC Campus
Introducing Marketing
Author: John Burnett
Publisher: Global Text Project

Book Chapters

Module 12: Marketing
From: Introduction to Business
Author: Ann Sebeck, Bay College
Chapter 14: Marketing: Providing Value
From: Fundamentals of Business - Canadian Edition

Courses & Courseware

BUS203: Principles of Marketing
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 31 hours
Introduction to Marketing
Author: Scott van Dyk, Coast Mountain College
The course material references the open textbook Principles of Marketing (see above)
more...less...
First-year course covering the fundamental topics of marketing including (but not limited to) marketing principles, market research, consumer behaviour, customer satisfaction, branding, advertising, supply chain management, marketing plans and international marketing. The course is based upon a 15 week, 45 hour delivery of the content.

HOSP 2660: Hospitality Sales Management

Textbooks

The Power of Selling
Author: Dr. Michelle Clement
Selling For Success 2e
Publishers: NSCC and Saylor
more...less...
The NSCC edition of Selling for Success (2nd Edition) is a remixed and adapted version of The Power of Selling published by Saylor.
Introduction to Consumer Behaviour
Author: Andrea Niosi
more...less...
This open textbook was designed for students studying business or marketing at an undergraduate level. It draws on the fields of marketing, business, communications, media studies, psychology, sociology, and anthropology. The book invites readers to examine the internal forces that shape consumer decision making, such as perceptions, motivations, personality, and attitudes as well as the external ones, such as social and situational influences, culture, and subcultures. This text centres the lived experiences of today’s consumers, specifically, undergraduate students. The author has also made efforts to decentre whiteness and dominant culture perspectives wherever possible to ensure a broader and more accurate representation of diverse consumers.

Courses & Courseware

Entrepreneurial Sales
Authors: Lou Shipley, Kirk Arnold, and Dennis Hoffman
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings and case assignments, lecture notes, assignments, and exams
more...less...
Outlines the practical and tactical ins and outs of how to sell technical products to a sophisticated marketplace. How to build and manage a sales force; building compensation systems for a sales force, assigning territories, resolving disputes, and dealing with channel conflicts. Focus on selling to customers, whether through a direct salesforce, a channel salesforce, or building an OEM relationship.
SALES103: Public Speaking for Sales
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 15 hours

HOSP 2810: Management Accounting

Textbooks

Principles of Accounting, Volume 2: Managerial Accounting
Authors: Patty Graybeal, University of Michigan-Dearborn, Mitchell Franklin, LeMoyne College, and Dixon Cooper, Ouachita Baptist University
Management Accounting Concepts and Techniques
Author: Dennis Caplan, University at Albany, State University of New York
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Author: Lolita Paff
Publisher: Pennsylvania State University

Courses & Courseware

BUS105: Managerial Accounting
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 71 hours
more...less...
Students will examine the effects of cost, price, and profit on management decision-making, and learn about the tools and methods managers use to make informed business decisions.
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Author: Sugata Roychowdhury
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, assignments, and exams
more...less...
This course studies basic concepts of financial and managerial reporting. The viewpoint is that of readers of financial and managerial reports rather than the accountants who prepare them.

Flashcards

Management Accounting

HOSP 2820: Cost Controls

Textbooks

Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management
Author: The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publisher: BCcampus
more...less...
Contents include: Inventory control, food costing, labour costing, budget and business planning, and more.

Lecture Notes

Budgeting and Cost Control
Authors: Olivier de Weck, James Lyneis, and Dan Braha, MIT

HOSP 3310: Contemporary Canadian Business

Textbooks

Fundamentals of Business - Canadian Edition
Publisher: eCampusOntario
Supplementary materials: H5P activities (embedded in text)
more...less...
Covers a variety of topics: The Foundations of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Structuring Organizations, Operations Management, Motivating Employees, Managing Human Resources, Union/Management Issues, Marketing: Providing Value, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.
Introduction to Business
Author: Lawrence J. Gitman, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary materials: Moodle Course Cartridge, text bank, study guide, review questions, and more
Business Ethics
Publisher: OpenStax
Authors: Stephen M. Byars and Kurt Stanberry

Courses & Courseware

Introduction to Management
Author: Scott van Dyk, Coast Mountain College
Includes syllabus, case studies, and tests
References the textbooks Principles of Management and Fundamentals of Business – Canadian Edition
more...less...
A first-year business course covering fundamental topics including organizational change, leadership, human resource management, ethics, and strategic management. The course is designed to introduce learners to management topics through the use of case studies which will be the focal point of discussions throughout the course.
BUS101: Introduction to Business
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 62 hours
more...less...
"This course will expose you to business terminology, concepts, and current business practices. We will help you establish a viable business vocabulary, foster critical and analytical thinking, and refine your business decision-making skills."

Also see OER resources for:

HOSP 1410: Principles of Service Management
HOSP 1860: Financial Accounting
HOSP 2410: Human Resources Management
HOSP 2620: Introduction to Marketing
HOSP 2810: Management Accounting
HOSP 2370: Management Principles
HOSP 2470: Organizational Behaviour

HOSP 3320: Operations Management

Textbooks

Operations Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Introduction to Operations Management
Authors: Hamid Faramarzi and Mary Drane
Project Management - 2nd Edition
Author: Adrienne Watt
Publisher: BCcampus
Strategic Project Management: A Practical Introduction for Human Resource Professionals
Author: Debra Patterson
Publisher: Fanshawe College

Courses & Courseware

BUS300: Operations Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 54 hours
Introduction to Operations Management
Author: Jérémie Gallien
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, assignments, and projects
more...less...
This half-term course introduces students to problems and analysis related to the design, planning, control, and improvement of manufacturing and service operations. Class sessions involve explaining concepts, working examples, and discussing cases. A wide range of topics are covered, including: process analysis, quality management, supply chain design, procurement, and product development.
Introduction to Operations Management
Authors: Charles H. Fine and Tauhid Zaman
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, cases and readings, assignments, and simulation exercises
more...less...
This course provides students with concepts, techniques and tools to design, analyze, and improve core operational capabilities, and apply them to a broad range of application domains and industries. It emphasizes the effect of uncertainty in decision-making, as well as the interplay between high-level financial objectives and operational capabilities. Topics covered include production control, risk pooling, quality management, process design, and revenue management.
Understanding Operations Management
Publisher: OpenLearn
more...less...
Operations management is one of the central functions of all organisations. This free course, Understanding operations management, will provide you with a basic framework for understanding this function, whether producing goods or services or in the private, public or voluntary sectors. In addition, this OpenLearn course discusses the role of operations managers and the importance of focusing on suppliers and customers.
BUS402: Project Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 62 hours

HOSP 3820: Hospitality Financial Management

Textbooks

Principles of Finance
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary resources: Instructor's manual, lecture slides, text bank, and more
more...less...
Provides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout. With flexible integration of technical instruction and data, this title prepares students for current practice and continual evolution.
Financial Management for Small Businesses, 2nd OER Edition
Authors: Lindon Robison, Steven Hanson, and J. Roy Black
Publisher: Michigan State University Libraries

Courses & Courseware

BUS202: Principles of Finance
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 50 hours
more...less...
In this course, you will be exposed to a number of different sub-fields within finance. You will learn how to determine which projects have the best potential payoff, to manage investments, and even to value stocks. In the end, you will discover that all finance boils down to one concept: return. If I give you money today, how much money will I get back in the future? Though the answer to this question will vary widely from case to case, by the time you finish this course, you will know how to find the answer.
Financial Management
Authors: Jonathan Lewellen
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, assignments, and exams
more...less...
Financial Management studies corporate finance and capital markets, emphasizing the financial aspects of managerial decisions. It touches on all areas of finance, including the valuation of real and financial assets, risk management and financial derivatives, the trade-off between risk and expected return, and corporate financing and dividend policy. The course draws heavily on empirical research to help guide managerial decisions.

HOSP 3910: Statistical Decision Making

Textbooks

Introductory Business Statistics
Authors: Alexander Holmes, Barbara Illowsky, and Susan Dean
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary resources: PowerPoint slides, answer guide, and more
more...less...
Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical
Introductory Business Statistics with Interactive Spreadsheets – 1st Canadian Edition
Authors: Mohammad Mahbobi and Thomas K. Tiemann
Publisher: BCcampus
more...less...
Adaptation of Thomas K. Tiemann’s book, Introductory Business Statistics.

Courses & Courseware

BUS204: Business Statistics
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 53 hours
MA121: Introduction to Statistics
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 32 hours
Business Statistics
Author: Evan van Dyk, Coast Mountain College

GNED 3210: Multiculturalism in Business

Textbooks

Building Community: Introduction to Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Publisher: University of Guelph.
Authors: Office of Diversity and Human Rights, University of Guelph.
more...less...
Chapter 1: Privilege
Chapter 2: Recognize Intersectional Oppression
Chapter 3: Acknowledge Your Biases
Chapter 4: Address Your Biases
Chapter 5: Celebrate Diversity
Chapter 6: Inclusive Language
Chapter 7: Allyship
Chapter 8: Interrupt Oppression
Chapter 9: Active Participation
Chapter 10: Commit to Deepening Your Knowledge and Understanding
Cases on Social Issues: For Class Discussion
Publisher: Kwantlen Polytechnic University.
Authors: Deirdre Maultsaid and Gregory John.
Includes: Discussion prompts, notes for teaching strategy, and reading lists.
more...less...
Includes cases on issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion for student use. The critical events portrayed in the cases are realistic and emotional, and feature the experiences of under-represented and marginalized people. These thoughtful, contemporary cases pose ethical dilemmas about social issues that encourage post-secondary students and instructors to have stimulating, inclusive, and compassionate discussions. Inspired by input from post-secondary students and authored by people usually under-represented in education material, this resource is designed for upper-level undergraduate or graduate students in the humanities, social sciences, business, healthcare, science, agriculture, environmental studies, law and more.

Book Chapters

Chapter 12: Diversity in Organizations
From: Principles of Management
Authors: David S. Bright, Anastasia H. Cortes, Eva Hartmann, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax

Online Courses

PRDV223: Organizational Culture, Diversity, and Ethics
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 20 hours

HOSP 3460: Canadian Labour Relations

Book Chapters

Chapter 13: Union Management Issues
From: Fundamentals of Business - Canadian Edition
Publisher: eCampusOntario

HOSP 3670: Service Marketing

Book Chapters

Chapter 8: Services Marketing
From: Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC – 2nd Edition

Also see OER resources for: HOSP 2620: Introduction to Marketing

HOSP 3860: Capital and Asset Management

Textbooks

Financial and Managerial Accounting
Author: Lolita Paff
Publisher: Pennsylvania State University
Principles of Finance
Publisher: OpenStax
Supplementary resources: Instructor's manual, lecture slides, text bank, and more
more...less...
Provides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout. With flexible integration of technical instruction and data, this title prepares students for current practice and continual evolution.

HOSP 4320: Strategic Hospitality Management

Textbooks

Mastering Strategic Management – 1st Canadian Edition
Author: Janice Edwards
Publisher: BCcampus
Strategic Management
Authors: adapted by Reed Kennedy, et al.
Publisher: Pamplin College of Business in association with Virginia Tech Publishing
more...less...
Students will learn how to conduct a case analysis, measure organizational performance, and conduct external and internal analyses.
Strategic Management 2E
Author: John Morris
Publisher: Oregon State University
Mastering Strategic Management
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing

Book Chapters

Chapter 9: The Strategic Management Process: Achieving and Sustaining Competitive Advantage
From: Principles of Management
Authors: David S. Bright, Anastasia H. Cortes, Eva Hartmann, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax

Courses & Courseware

Introduction to Management
Author: Scott van Dyk, Coast Mountain College
Includes syllabus, case studies, and tests
References the textbooks Principles of Management and Fundamentals of Business – Canadian Edition
more...less...
A first-year business course covering fundamental topics including organizational change, leadership, human resource management, ethics, and strategic management. The course is designed to introduce learners to management topics through the use of case studies which will be the focal point of discussions throughout the course.
BUS501: Strategic Management
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 45 hours
Strategic Management I
Authors: Rohan Sahani and Arnoldo Hax
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, and assignments
more...less...
This course focuses on some of the important current issues in strategic management. It will concentrate on modern analytical approaches and on enduring successful strategic practices. It is consciously designed with a technological and global outlook since this orientation in many ways highlights the significant emerging trends in strategic management. The course is intended to provide the students with a pragmatic approach that will guide the formulation and implementation of corporate, business, and functional strategies.

HOSP 4460: Leadership in Organizations

Textbooks

Developing Organizational and Managerial Wisdom – 2nd Edition
Author: Brad C. Anderson
Publisher: Kwantlen Polytechnic University
more...less...
Presents novel research results in the dynamics of values, rationality, and power in organizations. Readers will gain insights and frameworks to understand others’ actions within their environment. Armed with the knowledge of how values, rationality, and power influence people’s actions, readers will gain tools they can use to navigate the complexity of organizations to foster wise action.
Cultivating Your Leadership Capabilities
Publisher: Granite State College
Principles of Management for Leadership Communication
Publisher: University of Arkansas Libraries (adapted from a work published by University of Minnesota Libraries)

Book Chapters

Chapter 6: Management and Leadership in Today's Organizations
From: Introduction to Business
Author: Lawrence J. Gitman, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Chapter 13: Leadership
From: Principles of Management
Authors: David S. Bright, Anastasia H. Cortes, Eva Hartmann, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Module 10: Motivating Employees
From: Introduction to Business
Author: Ann Sebeck, Bay College

Online Courses

BUS401: Management Leadership
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 96 hours
PRDV231: Elements of Ethical Leadership
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 8 hours

HOSP 4610: Entrepreneurship

Textbooks

Entrepreneurship
Authors: Michael Laverty, Chris Littel, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax
Business Startup and Entrepreneurship: Canada
Author: Matthew Pauley
Publisher: University of Prince Edward Island
more...less...
Focuses on the foundations of entrepreneurship and starting a business. The text is divided from the theoretical underpinnings of the discipline; entrepreneurship traits and characteristics and the activities that precede starting a business.
Introduction to Entrepreneurship
Author: Katherine Carpenter
Publisher: Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Entrepreneurship and Innovation Toolkit
Author: Lee A. Swanson
Publisher: BCcampus
Brilliant Online: Introduction to Entrepreneurial Changemaking
Authors: Connor Loughlean and Karen Zavitz
Publisher: Open Education Lab, Ontario Tech University
Digital Strategy for Entrepreneurs
Author: Andrea Niosi
Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Authors: Michelle Ferrier and Elizabeth Mays

Book Chapters

Module 4: Entrepreneurship
From: Introduction to Business
Author: Ann Sebeck, Bay College
Chapter 7: Entrepreneurship
From: Principles of Management
Authors: David S. Bright, Anastasia H. Cortes, Eva Hartmann, et al.
Publisher: OpenStax

Courseware

Entrepreneurial Sales
Authors: Lou Shipley, Kirk Arnold, and Dennis Hoffman
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes: Syllabus, readings and case assignments, lecture notes, assignments, and exams
more...less...
Outlines the practical and tactical ins and outs of how to sell technical products to a sophisticated marketplace. How to build and manage a sales force; building compensation systems for a sales force, assigning territories, resolving disputes, and dealing with channel conflicts. Focus on selling to customers, whether through a direct salesforce, a channel salesforce, or building an OEM relationship.

HOSP 4620: New Media in Hospitality

Textbooks

Foundations in Digital Marketing
Author: Rochelle Grayson
more...less...
Covers fundamental frameworks, practical applications, and online tools that can all be applied to build and execute a cohesive and engaging digital marketing strategy.
eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Online Marketing
Author: Rob Stokes, Saylor Academy
more...less...
Covers search engine marketing, affiliate marketing, web analytics and conversion optimisation, web development, online copywriting, online advertising, webPR, online reputation management, pay per click advertising, viral marketing, social media marketing, search engine optimisation, eMarketing strategy, market research, mobile marketing, crowd sourcing, and customer relationship management.

Also features summaries, learning objectives and discussion points for each chapter, as well as a glossary and index.
Intro to Social Media
Author: Cheryl Lawson
Publisher: Oklahoma State University Libraries

Streaming Video

Social Media Marketing in Hospitality and Tourism
Author: Jamie Hilsinger
Time: 72 minutes

HOSP 4660: Business Innovation

Textbooks

Leading Innovation
Author: Kerri Shields
more...less...
Introduces business innovation, from incremental innovation such as enhancing the performance of an existing product, service, or process, to radical or disruptive innovation such as one that has a significant impact on a market. Examines how leaders foster a culture of innovation, how companies turn creativity into innovation, and how innovation transforms not only organizations but economies as well.
Electronic Commerce: The Strategic Perspective
Authors: Richard T. Watson, Pierre Berthon, Leyland F. Pitt and George M. Zinkhan
more...less...
Covers web strategy, promotion distribution, service, and pricing. The final chapter takes a broader, societal perspective and discusses the influence of electronic commerce on society.
Entrepreneurship and Innovation Toolkit
Author: Lee A. Swanson
Publisher: BCcampus

GNED 4260: Sustainability in Business

Textbooks

Sustainability, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
Author: Andrea Larson, University of Virginia
Publisher: Saylor Foundation
The Sustainable Business Case Book
Authors: Ross Gittell, Matt Magnusson, and Michael Merenda
Publisher: Saylor Foundation
A Primer on Sustainable Business
Publisher: Saylor Foundation
Social Entrepreneurship and Sustainability: Canada
Author: Matthew Pauley
Publisher: University of Prince Edward Island
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation
Authors: Tom Theis and Jonathan Tomkin, University of Illinois
Publisher: OpenStax CNX

Book Chapters

Chapter 10: Environmental Stewardship
From: Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC – 2nd Edition

Online Courses

Sustainable Tourism Future
Authors: Karla Boluk, Culum Canally, Statia Elliot, and Ryan Snider.
more...less...
Examines the current landscape of tourism and hospitality with the focus on fostering the skills and knowledge to develop innovative, sustainable products to rebuild the distressed industry. The course is designed to be delivered in a blended learning context with a synchronous component (face-to-face/virtual) and an asynchronous component (completed outside scheduled class time).
ENVS203: Environmental Ethics, Justice, and World Views
Publisher: Saylor Academy
Time: 55 hours
more...less...
In this course, we introduce the concept of environmental ethics, a philosophy that extends the ethical concepts we traditionally apply to human behavior to the natural world. We will study the history of environmental ethics, the concept of environmental justice, and explore how our views about the natural world have changed over time.