LibGuides: OER by Department: Music

Music Theory

Open Music Theory
Authors: Mark Gotham, et al.
Understanding Basic Music Theory
Author: Catherine Schmidt-Jones
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Music Theory for the 21st-Century Classroom
Author: Robert Hutchinson
A Practical Approach to Understanding Music Theory
Author: Charles Brooks
Publisher: University of North Alabama
Fundamentals, Function, and Form: Theory and Analysis of Tonal Western Art Music
Author: Andre Mount
Publisher: Milne Open Textbooks
The Mathematics of Rhythm
Author: Elliott Grabill

Music Appreciation & Context

Music Appreciation
Author: Armin Harrison
Music Appreciation I
Publisher: Lumen Learning
Music Appreciation II
Publisher: Lumen Learning
Music Appreciation: Its Language, History and Culture
Author: Daphne Tseng
Sound Reasoning
Authors: Anthony Brandt and Robert McClure
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Supplementary material: Listening gallery with exercises follows each module
Understanding Music: Past and Present
Authors: Alan Clark, Thomas Heflin, Jeffery Kluball, Elizabeth Kramer
Publisher: University of North Georgia Press
Music in World Cultures
Author: Justin R. Hunter and Matthew Mihalka
Publisher: University of Arkansas Libraries
Music on the Move
Author: Danielle Fosler-Lussier
Publisher: University of Michigan Press
Resonances: Engaging Music in Its Cultural Context
Author: Esther Morgan-Ellis
Publisher: University of North Georgia Press
The Practice of Popular Music: Understanding Harmony, Rhythm, Melody, and Form in Commercial Songwriting
Author: Trevor deClercq

Technique

Music Fundamentals 1: Pitch and Major Scales and Keys
Authors: Terry B. Ewell and Catherine Schmidt-Jones
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Music Fundamentals 2: Rhythm and Meter
Authors: Terry B. Ewell and Catherine Schmidt-Jones
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Voice Class
Publisher: Lumen Learning
Vocal Techniques for the Instrumentalist
Author: Amy Rosine
Publisher: New Prairie Press
Sight-Reading for Guitar
Author: Chelsea Green
Brass Techniques and Pedagogy
Author: Brian Weidner
Publisher: Palni Press
Teaching Low Brass
Author: Steven Maxwell
Publisher: New Prairie Press
Arban Expansion Pack Trumpet: Classic Exercises Adapted for Today's Musician
Author: Matt Stock
Publisher: University of Oklahoma via SHAREOK Joint Institutional Repository

Guitar Fundamentals Series

From the foreward: "George Arvola (1948-2016) was a guitarist and music teacher. He created his own series of guitar method books entitled Guitar Fundamentals. Volumes 2-5 of this series are based on approximately 600 pages of music manuscript by Tony Bradan (1913-1999) entitled A Learning Process for Playing the Guitar, which Tony entrusted to George."

The following materials are freely available online. However, they are copyrighted and all rights are reserved.

Guitar Fundamentals Primer
Author: George Arvola
Guitar Fundamentals Book 1
Author: George Arvola
Learning Process for Playing the Guitar Book 1
Author: Tony Bradan
Guitar Fundamentals Book 2
Authors: George Arvola and Tony Bradan
Guitar Fundamentals Book 3
Authors: George Arvola and Tony Bradan
Guitar Fundamentals Book 4
Authors: George Arvola and Tony Bradan
Guitar Fundamentals Book 5
Authors: George Arvola and Tony Bradan
Guitar Fundamentals Book 6
Author: George Arvola
Rhythm Guitar Studies
Author: George Arvola
Supplement to Guitar Fundamentals Books 1 to 4

Scores & Sheet Music

Selection of sheet music OER from Simon Fraser University Library's Music Information Resources Guide.

African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
Developed and hosted by the Brown University Center for Digital Scholarship
Choral Public Domain Library
Early Music Online
Over 320 digitized volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music from holdings at the British Library.
Eastman / Sibley Music Library
Developed by the University of Rochester, this resource has well over ten thousand entries for sheet music.
Europeana
Recordings, sheet music, instruments, and music-related collections from European audio-visual archives, libraries, and museums.
Chopin Early Editions
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library
Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
Hosted by Johns Hopkins University, this collection includes American music from 1780 to 1980, with a focus on the nineteenth century.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870 to 1885
Hosted by the Library of Congress, this collection contains almost fifty thousand pieces of sheet music.
MusOpen
Over 100,000 classical sheet music PDF files. Browse by composer, instrument, form, or time period.
Neue Mozart-Ausgabe
Aims to make Mozart's musical compositions widely accessible to the public for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
Sheet Music Consortium
Designed by a group of libraries with the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music. Hosted by UCLA Digital Library Program.
Library and Archives Canada's Sheet Music Collection
Sheet music published in Canada before 1921, selected from the Sheet Music Collection at Library and Archives Canada. Includes over 20,000 patriotic and parlour songs, piano pieces, sacred music and novelty numbers, some dating back to the 1700s.