OER by Department: Business & Project Management

"This learning resource and associated simulation modules are designed to give project managers and project management learners deep insight into a corporate change management project. The module will allow the learner to embark upon a transition that is focused on helping a mid-sized North American professional consultancy firm expand its software services and solution division to help enhance its regional and global competitiveness."

Covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Aims to teach economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept. For questions about this textbook please contact textbookuse@umn.edu

Combines open access content for introductory courses in business communication and supplements this content with new material on personal and social identity; rhetorical listening; inclusive language; storytelling; and territorial Land Acknowledgements. The textbook is focused on a Canadian audience of first-year Commerce students.

Includes a number of features such as learning objectives, exercises, real world examples, key terms, and post-chapter assessments. Adapted from Business Communication for Success to reduce size and scope of original publication and to add Canadian examples.

First-year business communications course composed of 13 weeks of coursework. Establishes business communication fundamentals such as delivering bad news, writing informational reports, creating persuasive messages, designing and delivering professional presentations, and preparing for employment searches.

Designed for instructors who have the option of delivering the content either synchronously or asynchronously, depending on the needs of their classes and students. Students will explore and practice concepts such as their own writing beliefs, genres, audience analysis, storytelling, forming arguments, evaluating sources, persuasion, and verbal and written presentation skills.

Covers a variety of topics: The Foundations of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Structuring Organizations, Operations Management, Motivating Employees, Managing Human Resources, Union/Management Issues, Marketing: Providing Value, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.

First-year course covering the fundamental topics of marketing including (but not limited to) marketing principles, market research, consumer behaviour, customer satisfaction, branding, advertising, supply chain management, marketing plans and international marketing. The course is based upon a 15 week, 45 hour delivery of the content.

The content of this textbook is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for the Advanced Level Business/Technical Mathematics. The textbook covers nine groups of learning outcomes organized in chapters. The first three chapters cover the core learning outcomes: 1. Operations with Real Numbers, 2. First Degree Equations and Inequalities, 3. Equations and their Graphs. The remaining chapters cover the following six topics: 4. Systems of Equations, 5. Trigonometry, 6. Health Option, 7. Finance, 8. Data Analysis 1, 9. Data Analysis 2.

Provides an introduction to a variety of topics in business math including simple and compound interest, annuities, payment schedules, mortgages, and more. This supplemental textbook covers topics from Chapters 8 to 13 inclusive, adapted from the original Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook by J. Olivier and Lyryx Learning Inc. providing extra resources, examples, and storytelling activities.

This book serves as a companion to Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook Abridged (see above), featuring instructor resources centered on storytelling techniques and case studies that align with the examples in the companion OER.