LibGuides: Legal Subject Guide with Legal Citation: Legal Links

Legal Web Sites

General Web Sites

Research guides, legal assistance programmes, and background information. See the Laws Online or Judgements Online pages of this guide for primary law.

BC Courthouse Library Society
Includes links, legal research blog, and legal research explanations, including:

Asked & answered legal research information (Includes content from the "Popular case name table," providing proper case name & citations for famous cases)
How a bill becomes law in BC
How a bill becomes law in Canada
Canadian Law List
Searchable database with contact information for lawyers, judges and court officials across Canada.
Canadian Online Legal Dictionary
From Irwin Law (Publisher)
Canadian Legal and Constitutional Information
Library and Archives Canada
ClickLaw
This site provides access to plain-language legal information for residents of BC. Site is maintained by BC Courthouse Libraries.
Community Legal Assistance Society (CLAS)
CLAS provides legal advice and assistance for the benefit of people who are physically, mentally, socially, economically or otherwise disadvantaged or whose human rights need protection.
Continuing Legal Education Society of BC Legal Links
For legal professionals. Has links to a wide variety of legal information.
Courts of BC - Guide to the courts system
Video explanations of the basics of BC's courts system.
DUHAIME LAW
Another list of resources on the Canadian Legal system, maintained by a B.C. Law firm
Guide to Canada's System of Justice
Law Students' Legal Advice Program
(University of British Columbia, Faculty of Law)
LSLAP is a non profit society run by law students at UBC. Free legal advice and representation at clinics located throughout the Greater Vancouver District.
LSLAP Manual Online
Provides overviews of a range of legal topics.
Canadian Legal and Constitutional Information
Library and Archives Canada
Justice Education Society of BC
A non-profit organization serving to educate the public about law, courts, and the legal system. The site contains many resources in both print and effective streaming-video presentations. It serves the general public, youth, persons with disabilities, Aboriginals and immigrants.
LawyerShop.ca: Legal Information Centre
Over 500 current, informative articles and 200 podcasts about civil, criminal, employment, estate, family, immigration and personal injury law. Note: Written by Ontario lawyers.
People's Law School
A non-profit organization serving to educate BC residents about rights and responsibilities under the law. Many free .pdf articles and a multilingual glossary
Plain Language Legal Writing
From the Canadian Bar Association.
Slaw.ca
A blog on all things Canadian & legal, with frequent posts on legal research. Check out the SlawTips legal research tips!

Featured sites & presentations:

Associations

BC Paralegal Association
Canadian Association of Paralegals
The Canadian Association of Paralegals (CAP) promotes the development, the visibility and the continuing education of paralegals in the field of law.
Continuing Legal Education Society of BC
For legal professionals. Has links to a wide variety of legal information.
Legal Services Society of BC
Law Society of BC

Recruitment Firm

ZSA
Canada's only national legal recruitment firm with offices across the country.

Web Search Tips

Use Google's Advanced Search to:

Limit searches to domains (like .edu, .org, .ca, etc.)
Search for terms only in a part of a document, like the title
Search for exact phrases (eg: "VCC Library")

Evaluate websites:

Who wrote it?
What is the website about?
When was it created or updated?
Where does it come from - government, business, educational institution?
Why was it created - to sell a product, to provide opinions, to educate?