Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BC Act, Regulation, and Rules
History of the Act
Rules & Regulations
Securities Acts - Other Provinces
International Regulatory Associations
Canadian Securities Law Blog (Feed)
Securities & Investment Law
British Columbia Security Commission
TSX (Toronto Stock Exchange)
TSX owns the Toronto Stock Exchange and the TSX Venture Exchange.
Other Regulatory Organizations
Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC)
IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization that oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada.
Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada (MFDA)
The MFDA is the national self-regulatory organization (SRO) for the distribution of the Canadian mutual fund industry.
Chambre de la sécurité financière
Its mission is to ensure that the financial sector professionals whose operations it governs act in the interest of consumers by offering them products and services that protect and stimulate the growth of their family assets.
Canadian Investor Protection Fund
(CIPF) protects clients' cash and securities held in an IDA, Toronto Stock Exchange, Canadian Venture Exchange or Montreal Exchange member firm if the firm becomes financially insolvent.
Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDCC)
Is the issuer, clearinghouse, and guarantor of exchange-traded interest rate and equity derivative contracts traded in Canada.
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC)
Canada's financial intelligence unit, is an independent agency, reporting to the Minister of Finance, who is accountable to Parliament for the activities of the Centre. It was established and operates within the ambit of the Proceeds of Crime (money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) and its Regulations.
Canadian Coalition for Good Governance
The Canadian Coalition for Good Governance promotes good governance practices in Canadian public companies and the improvement of the regulatory environment to best align the interests of boards and management with those of their shareholders, and to promote the efficiency and effectiveness of the Canadian capital markets.
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (SEDAR)
A filing system developed for the Canadian Securities Administrators.
System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders (SEDI)
System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders (SEDI) includes reports on securities holdings and trading of insiders of Canadian public companies.
National Registration Database (NRD)
The National Registration Database (NRD) is an electronic database containing registration information for dealers, underwriters, advisers and individuals registered under securities and commodity futures legislation in Canada. NRD is also a system used by applicants and registrants to electronically submit certain applications, notices and other registration information to securities regulatory authorities and self-regulatory organizations.
Electronic Data Gathering and Retrieval (EDGAR)
EDGAR includes disclosure documents that public companies are required to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
Cease Trade Order (CTO) Database
You can determine if a company has been issued a CTO by a provincial securities commission, or you can check the status of an existing CTO, by searching the Company Cease Trade Order Database. The database contains the names of all companies that issue securities whose securities have been recently or previously cease-traded by a securities commission in Canada in the regions indicated. The Other CTO database contains individuals or companies who have been ordered to cease trading in certain circumstances.
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License