Skip to Main Content
5 Minute English
Reading, Grammar, Vocabulary, Listening, Pronunciation, Slang/Idioms with exercises
Activities for ESL Students
Quizzes and puzzles- mostly grammar and vocabulary
BBC Learning English
Covers general and business English topics. British English.
BBC Skillswise: English & maths for adults
Covers practical grammar, speaking, listening, reading, and spelling
A range of explanations and practice activities. Has ads.
English Online France
Explanations and quizzes for listening, grammar, pronunciation, as well as Academic Reading and Writing
English Language Centre Study Zone
Grammar, reading, and vocabulary activities from the University of Victoria English Language Centre.
Hundreds of videos on conversation and test-taking strategies, as well as grammar and vocabulary structures. Includes quizzes.
Includes a range of resources, including quizzes and games.
Directory of links to various resources (mostly pdfs), divided by skills and levels
Interesting Things for ESL Students
Presents a number of links to online activities, including downloadable content
Learn English Feel Good
Online activities and exercises to practice listening, spelling, grammar, vocabulary, verb tenses, idioms; also includes worksheets/handouts for class
LINC 2 Classroom Activities: Learning Objects
"designed to assist newcomers learn English in the context of Canadian culture at the Canadian Language Benchmark 2-3 range"
A collection of many reading, grammar, listening and speaking resources for beginner and intermediate learners.
Tests and exercises
Speaking and Pronunciation
English Accent Coach
Online resource that helps to improve English pronounciation.
Miriam Webster's Perfect Pronunciation Exercises
Covers similar sounds, sentence and syllable stress, etc. Requires Flash.
American English pronunciation resource that illustrates how to make particular sounds.
Listen to recorded sounds of words with American English accent
"Our site is designed to help you memorize English (both US & UK!), Japanese, Chinese (Mandarin), German or Spanish vocabulary in an easy, fun way that really works. All the exercises use pictures, sounds, and games to make learning a new language as fun as enjoying a piece of chocolate!"
Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab
Easy, medium and difficult audio and video listening exercises.
Self-Study Quizzes for ESL Students
Over 1,000 activities on grammar, vocabulary, idioms, homonyms, slang and scrambled words
Offers placement tests, interactive quizzes, lessons and exercises, games, forum and chatroom, as well as other resources. Lots of teacher contributions.
Activities for ESL Students
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language. This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
About.com ESL Guide
ESL guide for About.com by Kenneth Beare. Tests, quizzes, exercises and many other resources.
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License