LibGuides: EAL (formerly ESL): Pathways 8 Research

Citation & Style Guides

APA Style

VCC Style Guide to APA
APA Guide with examples. Link opens a PDF in a new window.
APA Style - Douglas College
APA Formatting and Style Guide
(Purdue University)
APA Sample Paper
(Purdue University)
Getting Started with APA Style
(University of British Columbia)
Hanging Indents Demo
(YouTube)

Evaluating Websites

Think about these things when you look at a website, to decide if the information is useful.

1. Currency

When was the web page written, or updated? Sometimes it is really important that information is not too old.
If the information is old, find a newer source to use in addition, or instead.

2. Relevance

Is it on the topic you want?
Remember: You will find different parts of the story, and pieces of information, from different sources. It is your job to put them together with your analysis.

3. Authority & evidence

Who wrote and published it?
- Is there enough contact information that you believe them?
Are they experts on the topic?
Do they list sources for their information?

4. Purpose

Why did they write this?
Are they selling something?
Are they only giving one side of the story?

5. Accuracy

Is the information correct, or does it contradict what you know from other sources?

Pathways 8 APA Activity

Pathways 8 APA References Activity

<--- Follow the VCC APA Guid

Indigenous designers in B.C. outraged over claims of authenticity by non-Indigenous competitore

Selected Websites

Statistics on Indigenous Peoples (Statistics Canada)
Information from the federal census and reports.
Indigenous Foundations (UBC)
Basic introduction to "key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada" (First Nations Studies Program at the University of British Columbia).
Truth & Reconciliation Commission: Reports and educational documents
Selected reports, links to aboriginal organizations, links to educational materials.
VCC Library Guide - First Nations
First Nations Health websites

Search tip:

Use the basic part of a URL with site: to have Google search only that website.

"residential schools" site:gc.ca to search for residential schools on all Government of Canada (federal) websites.

potlatch site:ubc.ca to search for the word potlatch on the UBC website.

"truth and reconciliation" site:cbc.ca to search for truth and reconciliation information on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation site.

site:gov.bc.ca to search on the website of BC's provincial government.

More First Nations Websites

First Nations in Canada - Govt of Canada
First Nations Studies Program, UBC - Indian Act
Background, history, and discussion of the Indian Act, including a direct link to this federal legislation.
First Nations House of Learning - Xwi7xwa Library
The First Nations Library at UBC - list of resources and links. A very trustworthy source of information.
Indigenous Health -- Indigenous Services Canada
National Aboriginal Health Organization
Access to the Journal of Aboriginal Health, fact sheets and bulletins on many aspects related to the health of First Nations in Canada.

Background Information

Background information gives you the basics of a topic so you know enough to start searching for more detailed information. Use books, encyclopedias, or Canadian Points of View.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides opposing viewpoints on a variety of key Canadian topics (e.g. homelessness; same-sex marriage). Also contains research guides which are helpful in the writing of argumentative essays.
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Canadian encyclopedia.

Indigenous Terminology
An introduction to language used to describe Indigenous Peoples in Canada. From SFU Library.

Articles about First Nations Topics

Search articles for information on very specific aspects of your topic. Depending on your research question, a topic-specific database might be useful.

News articles

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.

Research articles: Assorted topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html

Health science articles

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.

Hospitality & tourism articles

Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news on all topics in hospitality, tourism and culinary arts.