LibGuides: EAL (formerly ESL): Find Articles

Selected Canadian News Sites

Most of these are also available through VCC Libraries subscriptions to news databases. Some of these news sites have a limit on the number of articles you can view in a month. If you can't access a full article, try searching one of our news database subscriptions.

CBC News
Centrist national news source. Taxpayer funded primarily, but with some ads.
Georgia Straight News
News page from The Georgia Straight, a Vancouver entertainment weekly. Stories likely to be left-leaning, but not primarily a newspaper.
National Post
Fairly conservative national news source.
The Tyee
Fairly left-leaning BC news source.

What's a Periodical?

Periodicals include:

Newspapers
Magazines
Journals

They are published regularly - daily, weekly, monthly, etc.

News Online

You need to login to your my.vcc account (my.vcc.ca ) to access these resources from home.

Username: Your student ID #
Password (If you haven't changed it): VCC Your birthdate (MMDDYY) #
- Example: VCC010283# is your password if you were born January 2nd, 1983.
- You may need to change your password.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.
OverDrive
A collection of popular downloadable eBooks and Audiobooks. You can either download a book using an Overdrive app or read it/listen using your browser.

MacLean's Magazine
Canadian News Magazine
CBC News
News from BC, Canada, and around the world from Canadian publicly-funded broadcaster.

Academic research databases

Research databases include articles written by academic experts (scientists and professors). The articles are for experts, and for college and university students who are studying a topic with a lot of detail.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Sociology database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

Background information

These databases include background summaries of different broad topics. They are background information, so they do not get published and updated as often as the news.

Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Canadian encyclopedia.
MAS Ultra (School Edition) This link opens in a new window
Information on a wide range of general and current topics. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides opposing viewpoints on a variety of key Canadian topics (e.g. homelessness; same-sex marriage). Also contains research guides which are helpful in the writing of argumentative essays.

Free Web Periodicals

West Coast Reader
A newspaper for adults who are improving their English reading skills- features adapted articles from the Province and Sun newspapers.
Topics: An Online Magazine for Learners of English
Where people learning English can share stories, ideas, travel information, recipes, poetry and much more. Interesting articles, but no longer updated.

Subject Guide

Kristina Oldenburg

Email Me

Contact:

Library, Broadway Campus

Subjects: ASL, Deaf & Visually Impaired, Automotive & Heavy Duty Transport, Basic Education, Deaf & Hard of Hearing, EAL (LINC & Pathways), eBooks, Education, Family Literacy, Interpreting, Legal Assistant & Paralegal, Office Administration, Sociology, Visually Impaired, Zotero