Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find books, DVDs, and more
VCC Online Databases
The database will provide you with a citation and abstract (short summary of the article) or the full article.
If only the citation is available, click "Where Can I Get This?"; this will check if we have it in another database, or let you request the article from another library through
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on health and medicine from more popular magazines and journals. More general information.
ERIC (Education) Index This link opens in a new window
Lists education journals, articles and documents. Very little full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly peer-reviewed articles from nearly 100 journals in psychology.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.
more... ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Use Database Citation Tools
Hanging Indents in MS Word
The video demos: the EBSCO citing tool, formatting a hanging indent, and double-spacing your document.
Click video at any time to pause.
The Case tool in MS Word
1. Select the text. 2. Use the Aa button on the Home ribbon of Microsoft word to select the correct case.
Note that in APA:
article titles are "Sentence case" (capitalize only the first word, proper nouns, and first word after punctuation)
journal titles all have the first letter capitalized (except for prepositions shorter than three letters long).
VCC Online Catalogue Subject Searches
Here are some popular subject searches in the VCC online catalogue. Click on them and they will take you to a list of library materials about that subject area...
Remember: For most topics you can pair 'early childhood education' or 'early childhood' with a topic of interest. For example, "nutrition early childhood" will retrieve resources about nutrition specific to young children.
These websites contain health information. Many are nutrition-related, and most include information about early childhood.
Evaluating Web Sources
Things to consider when doing research online:
How up-to-date is the information? When was it published or updated?
Do you need to update some of it?
Is it relevant? For example, if it's the laws around child care facilities, is it for BC? If it's nutritional information, is it the same guide that your employer uses?
Is it suitable for your audience? For example, is information for parents in a suitable language?
Who wrote the information?
Are they experts on the topic?
Is the information correct, or does it contradict what you know from your textbooks?
Why was it written? (To help you take care of children?)
Do the authors want to sell you something?
Off campus? Log in with your VCC username and password to view these videos.
7 videos (3-4 minutes) on these health topics:
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License