Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Practical Nursing: Audiovisual and Image Resources

A link to helpful Nursing resources. Includes databases, web sites, nursing associations.

Health Streaming Videos from Library Subscriptions Databases

This database has a collection of streaming videos from Medcom (currently over 1,963 videos), INTELECOM Health Video Collection, Harvard Health and others.

  • Launch the database (off-campus you will have to sign in using your college login after launching)
  • Select the top tab Browse
  • Select Video Training Programs

Browse the list of videos for your topic of interest.

The database usually breaks each video into 4 or 5 parts to reduce download time and has permalinks that can be embedded.

You can also opt to search the database using Advanced Search and clicking under Source type the selection Audio & Video Works.

Audio Resources

This resource also offers access to audio recordings through the Publication Type limit of Video-Audio Media.

To locate these recordings, go to the Basic Search screen and on the search screen locate the Publication Type.  Set it to Video-Audio Media. This will bring thousands of selections to choose from. Use other limits like Subject, Geography and Language to further refine your results. Select a title and then scroll down towards the bottom of the screen where you choose the language you want to see the article translated to or listen to the recording in English with an option to select your preferred accent of American, British or Australian.

Image collections

Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections.

Wikipedia Public Domain Image Resources
"The presence of a resource on this list does not guarantee that all or any of the images in it are in the public domain. You are still responsible for checking the copyright status of images"

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mari Paz Vera
She/Her
Contact:
Broadway Campus, Room 2015

604.871.7000 ext.7319

mavera@vcc.ca

Creative Commons

Openverse (Creative Commons) Search - images & audio
Creative Commons materials are available for use without copyright permission. Attribution is required.

Creative Commons Licenses

Outlines the different types of CC licenses: Attribution, Atrribution-Share Alike, Attribution-NoDerivs, etc.

Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License