LibGuides: Practical Nursing: Articles and Journals

Evaluating Articles

Use the C.R.A.A.P. test to evaluate your article:

Currency - How current is the article and the references used in the article?

Relevance - What is the target audience and is the level appropriate? Does the information relate to your topic?

Authority - Who published the article and does the author have the qualifications applicable to the subject content of the article? Who sponsored the research?

Accuracy - Does the evidence support the information provided and are there other resources to verify the information? Are there in-text citations?

Purpose - Was the article impartial, unbiased and factual? Does the article try to sway your opinion or inform you?

Available from Benedictine University Library, this checklist helps you evaluate an article you are considering for your paper:

Evaluating Sources Checklist

eJournals

Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 journals for articles in medicine, nursing and the life sciences.

International Journal of Indigenous Health
Aboriginal Health Research Networks Secretariat, Centre for Indigenous Research and Community-Led Engagement, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

Online Article Databases

Note: Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to access from home.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health topics from more scholarly journals. More in-depth, scientific information
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and allied health fields including evidence-based resources and streaming videos.
** Access Expires Oct 1, 2023
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html

Additional Databases

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on health and medicine from more popular magazines and journals. More general information.
Health Source: Alt Healthwatch (Holistic Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Articles on alternative and complementary approaches to health care.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for psychology, indexing over 2500 journals. Covers mental health topics in a wide range of fields including education, medicine, sociology, business and law. Some linked full-text.