LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Articles & Journals

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

Journal Titles

To access a specific journal, simply click on Journals A-Z on the library homepage and type in the title of the journal you wish to access.

Most dental journals are available online through one or more of the databases the college subscribes to.

When you find the journal you are interested in, scroll down to the Availability section and check the date range and follow the link.

Search Medline, CINAHL & PsycINFO

Search thousands of health sciences journal abstracts at once: Medline, CINAHL (Nursing), and PsycINFO databases.

Database Searching Tips
This short guide offers tips for refining your search within EBSCO databases.

* for different word endings
dental hygien* =dental hygiene, dental hygienist

"" for a specific phrase in that exact order
"dental hygiene" =dental hygiene

OR to find any of a set of terms
"mouth wash" OR mouthwash OR mouthrinse OR "mouth rinse" OR "oral rinse"

AND to limit your search to only things with both terms
children AND anxiety

Health & General Sciences Research Article Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
EBMR: Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
A definitive resource in evidence-based medicine (EBM). Combines four of the most trusted EBM resources into one database: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); ACP Journal Club; and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.

Pubmed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Background articles on the core topics in health, dental, nursing and biology.
Terms of Use: http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health topics from more scholarly journals. More in-depth, scientific information
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 journals for articles in medicine, nursing and the life sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, and images, from the humanities, social sciences, and science fields. Jstor is perfect for English, Music, Sociology, and Psychology research.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and allied health fields including evidence-based resources and streaming videos.
** Access Expires Oct 1, 2023
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly peer-reviewed articles from nearly 100 journals in psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for psychology, indexing over 2500 journals. Covers mental health topics in a wide range of fields including education, medicine, sociology, business and law. Some linked full-text.

Subject Guide

Alicia Copp

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Counselling Skills, Dental, Early Childhood Education, Education, Hospitality Management