LibGuides: Zotero: Zotero

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research.

With Zotero, you can:

Create, store, and manage citations from library catalogues, research databases, and websites
Automatically create bibliographies, in-text citations and footnotes directly in Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice
Save, organize, and annotate your sources, including PDFs, EPUBs, and web snapshots
Access your Zotero library from any computer through its syncing features

Download Page
Download the desktop app and install the browser extension.
Installation Instructions
Support and Documentation
Learn how to generate a bibliography, organize your library, and more.
Getting Help
Having trouble? Follow these steps to resolve your issue.
Knowledge Base
Find answers to frequently asked questions.

APA Citation Workshop
by Kristina Oldenburg Last Updated Apr 13, 2025 316 views this year

MLA Citation Style 9th edition
by Elaine Samwald Last Updated Mar 31, 2025 99 views this year

For help with Zotero, drop by VCC Library or book an appointment with a librarian.

Short PDF documents with screengrabs and text, showing how to use Zotero.

Download, install, log in, and sync Zotero
Download and install Zotero and the browser extension. Create a free account and sync your Zotero library.
Add articles, books, and websites to Zotero
Create, store, and manage citations from library catalogues, research databases, and websites.
Create private collections in Zotero
Use “Collections” to organize your Zotero library, for example by topic or by assignment.
Generate reference lists with Zotero
Automatically create a reference list or bibliography from items you added to Zotero.
Zotero extension for Microsoft Word
Create in-text citations and bibliographies directly in your Microsoft Word document.

Visit the Zotero download page to download Zotero for your desktop and browser.

Visit the Zotero website to learn more about using the Zotero Microsoft Word Plugin.