LibGuides: Criminology: Tutorials: Sociology Database and Lexis (Legal) Database

Tutorial: Sociology Database

Sociology database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

This Sociology Database Search video tutorial (2 min 20 sec) is also available on Kaltura. Please note that login information has changed. The default new password is VCCMMDDYY# (with your birthday in numeric Month, Day, Year format; eg VCC010299# if you were born January 2, 1999.)

Expand your search by adding synonyms to your keyword search, and using the "In" search to narrow where you look.

This Expanding Your Article Search: Sociology Database (3 min 15 sec) video tutorial is also available on Kaltura.

Find full articles using database links and interlibrary loan, and use the 'Cite' tool with online ASA guides.

This Finding Full Text Articles and Using the Cite Tool (2 min 10 sec) video tutorial is also available on Kaltura.

Search Tips Handout

Crim: Finding & Citing Articles Handout
This handout has a lot of screengrabs to remind you of the database features you used during our in-lab workshop.

Tutorial: Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Lexis Advance Quicklaw contains primary legal sources like Canadian court decisions and legislation. It also contains some commentary and analysis. This is from a legal perspective: it is valuable information, but not necessarily criminological analysis.

Quicklaw
Quicklaw has a comprehensive case law collection, and the ability to note up cases and legislation. There are also current awareness services and expert legal commentary.

https://lexisadvancequicklaw.ca/?identityprofileid=PBP3MT35781

Searching Case Law - Lexis Advance Quicklaw (4 min 23 s)

Boolean Searching - Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Learn how to combine searches to find case law and more in Lexis Advance Quicklaw