LibGuides: Criminology: Articles & Journals

Journals in the Library

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings:
e.g. ARREST* will find ARREST, ARRESTS OR ARRESTING

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:
e.g. QUESTION* OR INTERROGAT*

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:
e.g. First Search Box: DELINQUEN* AND
Second Search Box: YOUTH OR TEEN* OR ADOLESCEN*

e-Journals

Canadian Native Law Reporter (* see more info below for important access details)
Coverage of several thousand cases in Canadian courts involving Native legal issues.
more...less...
Searchable by choosing it as a source in our Quicklaw database (which is linked to above)
Once in Quicklaw, paste the following link into your url field (i.e., the box at the top of the web page, NOT the Quicklaw search box): https://cclsw2.vcc.ca/login?url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/0385cfc1-6202-41b4-90d8-b840820fede3/?context=1505209
Once you have done that (and Hit enter and then “Continue”), on the left side, you can “Search within the results” using whatever terms you think are pertinent for retrieving specific cases. One example might be the term “fishing” (if you are wanting to find cases pertaining to native fishing rights, as reported in the CNLR).
Indigenous Law Journal
The Indigenous Law Journal is dedicated to developing dialogue and scholarship in the field of Indigenous legal issues both in Canada and internationally.
Canadian Journal of Criminology & Criminal Justice
This publication appeals to justice administrators, researchers and practitioners, academics, and to anyone wishing to keep abreast of recent criminological findings and opinions. Searchable in our database Academic Search Complete.
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
A peer reviewed journal that " that publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, educational and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide. "
Canadian Criminal Law Review
"This Canadian journal of criminal law features the interaction of defence counsel, Crown prosecutors and the judiciary with leading academics to cover the critical issues that are encountered in the courtroom and, at the same time, that are analyzed in the classroom. Recent issues have examined topics such as conditional sentencing, criminal offences on the Internet and third-party disclosure. The Editorial Board is drawn from esteemed members of the judiciary, leading Crown prosecutors and defence counsel, and outstanding academic theoreticians." Searchable in our database Canadian Business & Current Affairs.
Criminal Behavior and Mental Health: CBMH
"Contains research papers on the causes of crime and delinquency, the treatment of mentally abnormal offenders, the police, the probation service, the courts, the legal process, and the social services." Searchable in Academic Search Complete.
Applied Psychology in Criminal Justice
"An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, academic journal that examines the intersection of applied and social psychology with criminal justice."
The Western Criminologist
The official newsletter of the Western Society of Criminology.
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology
"Original articles, research articles, practitioner essays, comment and reviews on all aspects of criminal law and criminology." Searchable in Academic Search Complete.
Criminal Justice Ethics
"Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy." Searchable in Academic Search Complete.
American Journal of Criminal Law
From the University of Texas, AJCL "Promotes & encourages improvement in the administration of criminal justice." Searchable in Academic Search Complete.

* You can also click on this publication subject search for Criminology to find additional journals we have full-text access to from VCC Library.

VCC Databases

Use the library databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

**********************************************************************************************

Accessing Databases from Home

Use your VCC Login (your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to access databases from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing summaries and many full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides indexing, summaries and many full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
JSTOR
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, and images from the humanities, social sciences, and science fields.
Canadian Major Dailies
Search the major Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun, The Province, National Post, and the Globe and Mail.
dèsLibris (Canadian Electronic Library)
Canada's largest online eBook collection. Over 20,000 e-books (fiction and non-fiction) and 70,000 public policy documents.
Quicklaw
Quicklaw has a comprehensive case law collection, and the ability to note up cases and legislation. There are also current awareness services and expert legal commentary.
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
Statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions from jurisdictions all across Canada. Search all, federal, or by province/territory. Unofficial versions. Some point-in-time.
QuickScribe
For legal research. Access B.C. statutes, regulations, and current legislation, as well as key federal legislation.
World Legal Information Institute
Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law

Journal Titles

It's possible to do a "subject" search for "Sociology" (or "Criminology") in VCC Library's "Journals A-Z" page ... such a search turns up many electronic publications, including eBooks. If you only want to see journal titles, after doing your search, click the "Journals" filter on the left. Some of the more useful of the journal titles are listed below (you can find out which of our databases give access by typing or pasting the titles into the search box in "Journals A-Z"):

Canadian Journal of Sociology
Publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research articles and innovative theoretical essays by social scientists from around the world, providing insight into the issues facing Canadian society as well as social and cultural systems in other countries.
Publisher: University of Toronto Press

International Indigenous Policy Journal

Publisher: University of Western Ontario
Topics: policies, indigenous people, indigenous health, indigenous education, social welfare

International Journal of Child, Youth & Family Studies
Publisher: University of Victoria
Topics: children, adolescents, family studies, community

Studies in Sociology of Science
Publisher: Canadian Research & Development Center of Sciences and Cultures
Topics: sociology, science, natural science, sociology of science

Women's Health & Urban Life
Publisher: University of Toronto
Keywords: Sociology -Gender Studies, women's health, mental health, physical health, urban life

Behavior and Social Issues

Electronic Journal of Sociology

Forum: Qualitative Social Research

International Journal of Sociology of Agriculture and Food

IT and Society

Journal of Criminal Justice and Popular Culture

Americana: The Journal of American Popular Culture

Other Voices: Journal of Cultural Criticism

Sociation Today

Social Sciences: Directory of Open Access Journals

Open Access Sociology Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Lists full-text open access journals that are available online mostly scientific journals

Digital Commons Network: Sociology
The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Directory of Open Access Books
A directory of academic, peer reviewed open access books
Canadian Journal of Sociology