Library
Material freely available on the web (public web) varies considerably in form (websites, blogs, podcasts, etc.), function, and reliability.
The decision to use such public internet sources in your paper depends on the nature of the assignment. Check with your professor if you are unsure whether you should use internet sources in your paper.
Regardless of the type of internet source you refer to, it is essential to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are authoritative resources to use for your assignment.
There is a vast array of websites. Authoritative information is available on company and organizational websites, including reports and government documents. However, much scholarly information is not accessible for free on the web, and you will need to make use of the databases for which the library has paid subscription fees.
If you are unfamiliar with a topic and need some basic information to get started, one strategy is to consult an Encyclopedia or Research Starter. Short articles in encyclopedias can provide context as well as basic facts and definitions of terms. Encyclopedia articles can also help further refine your topic.
Encyclopedias such as Encyclopedia Britannica are written and edited by authors who are known as experts in their field. Although anyone can contribute to and edit Wikipedia entries, it remains a valuable resource. Wikipedia articles are beneficial for exploring popular culture topics and tracking recent developments on current issues. However, think critically about the information you find there and be sure to cross-check that information with other sources.
Academic libraries also provide access to highly specialized encyclopedias, such as Oxford Reference Online, which features entries written by scholars in their respective fields. You can find recommendations for these in many of the subject-specific research guides maintained by the library.
Whether you are using Wikipedia, Britannica, or a more specialized encyclopedia, it is best to use these sources primarily as jumping-off points for more in-depth research rather than as the primary source for a paper.
Blogs began as personal journals, but have evolved into forums for subject matter experts, organizations, consumer feedback as well as advertising campaigns. One of their distinguishing features is the ability for readers to contribute comments.
Personal blogs are often self-published. Therefore, it is essential to review the About section of a blog to investigate the author’s credentials.
Blogs can be beneficial for current issues, trends and opinions.
Podcasts began as online simulations of radio broadcasts and, like blogs, have evolved. They range from interviews to lectures to extended opinion pieces and may consist of audio or video files. They can be downloaded or streamed from various sources.
Podcasts can be helpful for an assignment when they are produced or authored by reliable sources such as universities or reputable media organizations (e.g., BBC, CBC, PBS).
Remember, anyone can publish a blog or a podcast, so it is essential to think critically about authority and potential bias when using these platforms.
Videos, films, and documentaries often feature interviews with experts, providing valuable background information, firsthand accounts, and critical perspectives on a topic. The library provides access to a diverse range of films and educational videos in both DVD and streaming formats.
Video-sharing websites like YouTube host a diverse array of content. While some content on these platforms presents well-supported ideas and information, much of it is without a focus on accuracy and thoroughness
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License 