Downloading eBooks @ VCC Library: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

To find the eBook you want:

1. If you are off-campus, log into myvcc.ca with your student ID number and password.
2. Go to the VCC Library website, find the Databases page, and then follow the link to the eBook Collection (EBSCO).
3. Search the eBook Collection by keyword or browse by category. If you search by keyword, limit to "Full Text" (in the left column under "Refine Results") to see full text eBooks only.
4. You will have the option to read the full text in your internet browser or download the eBook as a PDF or EPUB file.

To download the eBook:

Please note that a small percentage of the eBook Collection is not available for download.

1. Click on the Full Download link.
2. You will be prompted to login to your My EBSCOhost account or create a new account. Click here for instructions on how to create a My EBSCOhost account.
3. Once logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you will be able to download the eBook.
4. To open and read the file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions and an Adobe ID. Click here to download Adobe Digital Editions for Windows and Mac for free.

For further instructions from EBSCO, see: Instructions on how to download eBooks (Written instructions and video tutorial)

If the EBSCOhost eBook you want is already "checked out," you can place a hold, to download the eBook when it becomes available.

Enter your email address in the field provided and click the "Place Hold" button. When the eBook is available, you will be notified via the email address you provided. The eBook will appear in the Checkouts area of your folder.

To download an EBSCOhost eBook to your mobile device, you will need the following:

1. Adobe Digital Editions. Download the free app from your device's app store:
   • Google Play: Android Phones and Tablets 
   • iTunes App Store: Apple iPhones, iPads, and iPod Touch 
   • Kindle App Store: Overdrive app for Kindle Fire Tablets
2. An Adobe ID
   • You will need an Adobe ID to authorize the Adobe Digital Editions app
   • To create an Adobe ID, simply enter your email address and select a password

For further instructions from EBSCO, see:

• Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (Video tutorial)
• How can I download and read eBooks on my mobile device? (Written instructions and screenshots)

EBSCO eBooks can be transferred to Nook, Kobo, Sony, and other Adobe DRM-Compatible eReaders.

1. On your computer, open your downloaded eBook in Adobe Digital Editions. If you have not authorized Adobe Digital Editions, you may be prompted to authorize it with your Adobe ID.
2. Connect your eReader to your computer with a USB cable.
3. Turn on the eReader. If the reader offers an option to Recharge or Connect to the computer, choose the “Connect” option.
4. Open Adobe Digital Editions. It automatically detects the presence of your eReader and offers to authorize it. (Adobe Digital Editions must be authorized on both your computer and eReader.)
5. Your eReader will now appear as a new bookshelf in your Adobe Digital Editions library. (Look for the eReader icon on the left side of the Adobe Digital Editions window. If the icon does not appear, you may need to disconnect and reconnect the device.)
6. Click the All Items option on the left side of the Digital Editions window to display all the books you currently have downloaded. Kobo users only: Choose your device’s Manage Library option.
7. Drag and drop the eBook into the eReader bookshelf. The transfer process should only take a few seconds. Do not disconnect the device while you are in the process of transferring a title to the device.
8. Disconnect your eReader from the computer.

Please note: the eBook may not be listed on your device with eBooks purchased from retailers. If this is the case, check your eReader’s documents folder.