LibGuides: NURS 1161: History of Nursing Presentation: Journal Articles

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

VCC Library Databases

Use article databases to search hundreds of different journals and magazines with one search. The database provides a list of citations and often the full text of the article is included.

These are the recommended databases to use for this assignment. For additional options, consult the complete list of health databases available through VCC Library.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and allied health fields including evidence-based resources and streaming videos.
** Access Expires Oct 1, 2023
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health topics from more scholarly journals. More in-depth, scientific information
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Background articles on the core topics in health, dental, nursing and biology.
Terms of Use: http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 journals for articles in medicine, nursing and the life sciences.