Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Search Tips
Use Google's Advanced Search to:
- Limit searches to domains (like .edu, .org, .ca, etc.)
- Search for terms only in a part of a document, like the title
- Search for exact phrases (eg: "VCC Library")
- Who wrote it?
- What is the website about?
- When was it created or updated?
- Where does it come from - government, business, educational institution?
- Why was it created - to sell a product, to provide opinions, to educate?
Biodiversity in BC & Canada
Biology Web Sites
Anatomy and Function of the Brain
An interactive tutorial to help you learn the parts and function of the brain
Animal Diversity Web
Browse the Kingdom Animalia or keyword search. From the University of Michigan, and includes teaching resources from instructors or presentations.
Basic neuroscience including: brain basics, higher functions, spinal cord, peripheral nervous system, the neuron, sensory systems, effects of drugs, neurological and mental disorders.
Animations to help visualize processes in human biology. (Recommended for Bio 12 and UT Bio, second term)
Biology lesson plans, worksheets, tutorials and resources for TEACHERS and STUDENTS
Covers cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, mendelian genetics, and molecular biology. Created by the University of Arizona.
Biology Project: Mitosis and Meiosis
University of Arizona’s Biology Project has great animations of and mini quizzes to test your understanding of the material.
Khan Academy videos on biology topics like evolution, cell genetics, photosynthesis, human biology, etc.
Online encyclopedia of plants and flowers.
Site covering cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy and includes interactive presentations on cell structures, cell galleries, and much more.
DNA from the Beginning
“An animated primer on the basics of DNA, genes and heredity … the science behind each concept is explained by: animation, image gallery, video interviews, problem, biographies, and links.”
Multimedia from PBS, the American public television station.
One-stop source for everything about evolution. Topics: what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into your life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
Gastrointestinal System Anatomy
An interactive tutorial to help you learn and practice identifying organs in the gastrointestinal system
Basic information and images of insects, organized by Orders.
Non-profit organization dedicated to "providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere." The materials and resources on the website are available free of charge. There are over 3,100 videos on everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history, with hundreds of skills to practice.
Excellent site that looks at DNA, heredity, traits, and epigenetics.
Useful website to practice calculating the diameter of field of view under different magnifications and size of object
NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
“An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.”
NHC Anatomy & Physiology Animations
Animations on A&P and basic chemistry topics from various teaching sites.
Science Daily is an American news website for topical science articles. It features articles on a wide variety of science topics including: astronomy, exoplanets, computer science, nanotechnology, medicine, psychology, sociology, anthropology, biology, geology, climate, space, physics, mathematics, chemistry, archeology, paleontology, and others.
Structure of the Kidney
An interactive tutorial to help you learn and practice identifying parts of the kidney
Suffix Prefix Dictionary
Most comprehensive online dictionary of biological and medical prefixes and suffixes
Swingle Plant Digital Archive and Reference Collection
Plant anatomy animations and digital image collections.
Tree of Life
A world-wide collaborative effort that provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
USDA Plants Database
“The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.” From the US Department of Agriculture.
A collection of quizzes and self-tests on intro-level A&P from University of Minnesota.
YOUTUBE: Microscope Tutorial (Part 1)
John Sowash demonstrates: 1. Parts of the microscope 2. Parts that you can adjust 3. Using your microscope (7:15)
YOUTUBE: Microscope Tutorial (Part 2)
John Sowash demonstrates: 1. Total Magnification 2. Common mistakes (4:15)
YOUTUBE: Sheep Heart Dissection
Sheep heart dissection video ... (2:24)
For Biology 11 (0861 / 0871):
From UBC, electronic atlas of the flora of British Columbia
Biogeoclimatic Zones of BC
From the BC government, another electronic atlas.
Animations and activities on ecology topics from the University of Alberta. Check out the topics on the right hand side for more. (Recommended for Bio 11 and UT Bio, first term)
Anatomy & Physiology - Web Resources
AOSSM 3-D Video Library of Selected Musculature
From the American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine, view complex multi-directional examples of musculature, bones, and joints relevant to exercise physiologists, via Flash video. Audio.
A digital library of anatomy resources, with links to cross-sections, bone videos, etc.
A study of human and primate comparative anatomy. Digitized versions of skeletons in full color, animations, and much supplemental information.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features engraving from the classic 1918 publication. Includes a subject index.
A Guided Tour of the Visible Human
An introduction and tour with images and animation to teach key concepts in human anatomy from The Visible Human Project.
Human Anatomy Online
This site provides images and drawings of the 10 major anatomical systems of the human body. The site allows the user to focus in on each system, and identify key organs and functions of each.
Internet Resources for Anatomy
(University of South Australia)
Links to educational resources, databases, and professional organizations.
Case studies. Includes a history and autopsy reports in the form of an Interactive Cadaver.
Color illustrations arranged by anatomic region. Requires (Free) individual registration, and installation of Silverlight.
Zygote Body is a 3-D model of the human body that users can browse, peel back “layers” of organs, and even search using a simple search box. *It does require that users have a WebGL-enabled browser, and it cannot be used on an iPad.
Mari Paz Vera
Subjects: Career & Job Hunting
, Community and Career Education (CACE)
, Computer Technology and Electronics
, Indigenous People
, Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
, Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) & Math
, Student Success
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Type in the common or scientific name of an organism to find where it fits in the hierarchy and the best term for searching.
Tree of Life Project
"A collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts" to " provide information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms and their evolutionary history." Organized hierarchically.
Wolfram Alpha search
"Definitive answers to factual queries ..."
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License