Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General / Multiple Species
Animal Diversity Web
Browse the Kingdom Animalia or keyword search. From the University of Michigan, and includes teaching resources from instructors or presentations.
APHIS (Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service)
APHIS is "responsible for protecting and promoting US agricultural health, administering the Animal Welfare Act, and carrying out wildlife damage management activities"
Census of Marine Life
The CML is a global network of researchers from more than 70 countries to assess, explore and explain "the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the ocean and explain how it changes over time." Information on this website is available in English, French, German and Japanese.
Ecology WWW Page
A webpage of many links to ecology sites arranged in alpha order. Sample sites: American Fern Society, JungleWalk.com, World Forest Watch. International in scope.
A website developed and maintained by the National Agricultural Library for the National Invasive Species Council. Includes links to various species, news and events, and resources. There is a group of searchable databases arranged under 7 subject categories.
NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
“An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.”
SIRIS (Smithsonian Institution Research Information System)
The Specialized Research Bibliographies database contains some 15,500 citations specializing in cephalopods, marine mammals, history of the Smithsonian, as well as Museums Studies research. Searches lead to citations of articles, not the articles themselves.
Tree of Life Project
"A collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts" to " provide information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms and their evolutionary history." Organized hierarchically.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Contains information as well as links to many resources about the protection and conservation of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. There is a website about endangered species as well. Note that the Search field does not necessarily yield hits for existing information.
U.S.G.S. Biology Resources
There's a great deal of information spread out over different programs and "resources" that require some digging around. Under the heading of Science, the USGS Biology Programs covers 8 subject and species categories, such as "Invasive Species Program"
Wildlife without Borders
The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service has developed three "partnership programs" with the cooperation of "other nations." Programs covered are Species, Global and Regional. FWS seeks to develop programs that will support conservation efforts, wildlife management training, and improve the coexistence of humans and wildlife.
"... a global alliance of conservation organizations working together for the world's birds and people" (source: homepage). Offers news about all things pertaining to birds, and a searchable database of basic information. Under the link, Data Zone, bird species can be searched for by family, genus, species, common name, IUCN Red List category, among other features.
BirdNet, the Ornithological Information Source
A service of the Ornithological Council, a public information organization involving 10 North American professional ornithological societies. This is a webpage of links to bird webpages, societies, organizations, special interest groups. Though portions of the webpage have been updated as recently as June 2003, there are several dead links still listed.
Birds of North America - Online
BNA Online is the electronic version of Birds of North America (Science Reference, QL 671 .B645. See also Print Reference Resources) It's an interactive, web-based reference with linked citations, digital images, and full video and sound. It is searchable by species, topic or keyword.
UM Museum of Zoology, Birds Division
Contains information about the research collection of the Birds division and links to a few websites about birds. There's a well-illustrated section on bird anatomy. Includes links to bird information on the Animal Diversity Webpage
Crustaceans & Mollusks
The Cephalopod Page
The personal homepage of Dr. James B. Woods, marine biologist. "I strive to provide an accurate, interesting and educational content oriented page devoted to the most active, intelligent and interesting invertebrates known—the Cephalopods."
A searchable database of European marine mollusca. The database is taxonomically oriented, covering the area of the eastern Atlantic, mid-Atlantic, and the Mediterranean and Baltic seas. Not a comprehensive database. There is a backlog of older references.
Australian website that allows for the searching of "crustaceans of the world." There is the option of using the search feature or going to a page where there is a list of crustacea arranged by Order.
UM Museum of Zoology, Mollusk Division
The site is under construction, but still contains some useful information. The Cool Sites section has 4 categories of information: General Malacology, Freshwater Mollusks, Terrestrial Mollusks, and Marine Mollusks. There is also a section on recent publications from the Division.
Fish & Other Sea Creatures
American Fisheries Society
Founded in 1870, and considered the oldest professsional society representing fisheries scientists. The Resources/Links site and the Education site contain links to other websites, such as Fisheries/Natural Resources, which has links to related sites.
Developed at the World Fish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), and other partners, and with support from the European Commission. Searchable database.
Fisheries Research Library
The Digital Library Production Service (DLPS) has joined with the Michigan Fisheries Division Library to offer access to the Fisheries Research Library. There are approximately 1,900 reports currently online. The Fisheries Research Library is fully searchable and freely available to the public.
A division within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. A webpage primarily of links, including links to websites about endangered species and commercial fisheries.
UM Museum of Zoology, Fish Division
There's an online searchable catalog of the division as well as links to other online databases about fish. There is also a short list of Fish division publications
Insects & Arachnids
Basic information and images of insects, organized by Orders.
International Society of Arachnology
Contains an index of arachnids by order, which includes common names, illustrations and "special spider pages." There is also an "Arachnids by Subject" webpage that has links to other sources of information.
UM Museum of Zoology, Insects Division
Some of the information on this webpage include the MES Publications' Entomology Notes, taxonomic holdings, a pictures archive and links to other websites. A small part of the division's collection of specimens has been cataloged into databases as lists of species.
Global Mammal Assessment Program
"The Global Mammal Assessment (GMA) is a program carried out at Sapienza University of Rome, a member of the IUCN Red List Partnership. Our laboratory includes a mix of researchers, PhD students, Masters students and Program Officers dedicated to the assessment of mammal extinction risk, the development of mammal distribution maps, and the forecast of scenarios of future mammal loss driven by global change."
The Mammal Society
The focus is on British mammals. Under Our Shop, you can find fact sheets. Under Activities, there's information about workshops, news, conferences, a discussion forum, etc. Information on mammals is basic, but comes with colored photos and some references.
North American Mammals
Another Smithsonian Institution website. "This is a searchable database of all living mammals of North America." (source: homepage). Contains information on more than 400 mammals specific to north America.
Center for Plant Conservation
The CPC is "dedicated solely to preventing the extinction of U.S. native plants." It is a network of over 30 botanical institutions, and maintains the National Collection of Endangered Plants. The website has links to participating institutions, news, plant websites.
Rain Forest Portal
The website began as a PhD research project and was formerly known as Forests.org, Inc. Currently, it's a project of Ecological Internet, Inc., a webpage of links and news about forest conservation. There is a search engine that allows for broad search terms, such as "rainforests", or "logging" in 2 categories, Internet and forests.org archive.
University of Michigan, Herbarium
Includes extensive links to other websites on plant, nomenclature, and mycology resources, and more. Also contains links to other herbaria and museums.
Reptiles & Amphibians
Center for North American Herpetology
A non-profit organization promoting the study of amphibians, reptiles, crocodiles and turtles. Includes links to other herpetology websites, news, upcoming meetings, publications and a searchable, but not comprehensive, database.
This website was created in conjunction with the UC Berkeley Digital Library Project. It offers online retrieval of information on amphibian biology and conservation. You can search by Genus, Species, Vernacular Name, Family, Order, and Country. Results give basic information and a brief list of references.
Amphibian Specialist Group / Amphibian Survival Alliance (ASA)
"The Amphibian Survival Alliance is committed to converging a diverse network of global partners with one goal: to protect amphibians and their habitats."
The New Reptile Database
"This database is intended to provide information on the classification of all living reptiles by listing all species and their pertinent higher taxa. The database therefore covers all living snakes, lizards, turtles, amphisbaenians, tuataras, and crocodiles. It is supposed to be a source of taxonomic data, thus providing primarily (scientific) names, synonyms, distributions and related data." (source: FAQ)
UM Museum of Zoology, Division of Reptiles and Amphibians
There's a history of the division, plus links to other herpetology websites. The Maps of Michigan Reptiles and Amphibians contains actual specimen data, and includes a map and photo, as well as call and status if applicable. Unfortunately the webpage hasn't been updated since 2000.
Endangered & Threatened Species
Animal Info - Information on Rare, Threatened and Endangered Mammals
Searchable website, though the indexing is not very logical. Includes links to other websites, organizations and pubications.
CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora)
Created at am IUCN meeting in 1963 for the purpose of ensuring that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival. Membership is voluntary. The website covers the activities of CITES, with links to other resources and official documents.
A U.S. based organization created to "conserve the Earth's living heritage..." CI works in over 40 countries to support plant and animal diversity.
EE Link: Endangered Species
EE-Link is a participant in the Environmental Education and Training Partnership of the North American Association for Environmental Education, with support from the Environmental Protection Agency. The Endangered Species site includes links about U.S. policy and treaties.
IUCN (International Union for the World Conservation Union (IUCN)
Also know as the World Conservation Union. IUCN is considered the world's largest conservation-related organization. The website contains information about programs, events and publications. The next 3 webpages are related to the IUCN.
European Red List
The European Red List is a review of the conservation status of c. 6,000 European species (mammals, reptiles, amphibians, freshwater fishes, butterflies, dragonflies, and selected groups of beetles, molluscs, and vascular plants) according to IUCN regional Red Listing guidelines.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on taxa using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. Note that only birds and mammals have been comprehensively assessed; "the vast majority of plant taxa listed in the 1997 IUCN Red List of Threatened Plants have not yet been evaluated against the revised Red List Criteria, and are therefore not included here. To find out the conservation status of plants, users must search both this database and the UNEP-WCMC Threatened Plants database." (source: www.redlist.org/info/introduction.html)
NOAA West Coast Fisheries
Detailed information, including maps, Federal Register notices and listing status of the following salmon: Chinook, Chum, Coho, Pink, Sockye, Steelhead, as well as information about marine fishes and Green Sturgeon.
UNEP - WCMC (United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre)
A multi-faceted webpage that includes news, international policies and agreements, publications, and a species database. UNEP-WCMC also addresses the relationship between trade and the environment. See also Project Proteus, an environmental information service coordinated by UNEP's Division of Early Warning and Assessment (DEWA).
US Forest Service, Watershed, Fish, Wildlife, Air and Rare Plants
A webpage from the US Forest Service homepage. Also includes information about threatened and endangered species.
Mari Paz Vera
Subjects: Building Management
, CACE: Community and Career Education
, Career & Job Hunting
, Leadership & Management Skills
, Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) & Math
, Student Success
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License