Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the BC Open Textbook Collection
Find OER for your course
BCcampus Open Textbooks Collection
Over 260 titles in subjects offered by BC postsecondary institutions, including works by BC postsecondary instructors.
eCampusOntario Open Library
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 250 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCCampus.
Choose from Course LibreTexts (customized textbooks) or TextMaps (designed for easy modification and adoption). Strong Chemistry content.
Athabaska University Press - Books
PDFs of academic books, can be downloaded in full or by chapter. Licensing prohibits derivative works (i.e. adapting textbooks). Humanities and Social Sciences focus.
National Academies Press
Browse by topic (left of page), or use the search box on the top right. Books are for sale but can be read online for free; or create a free account to download the PDF. Health Sciences focus.
Rice University-based collection of 40 peer-reviewed college textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
University of Minnesota-based collection of free, peer-reviewed postsecondary- or professional-level textbooks.
College-level textbooks currently or recently used in US postsecondary institutions.
OER in Development by Discipline
Appendix B in the BCcampus OER by Discipline Directory. Find OER currently in production that can be used in the future.
Mega-sites offer textbooks and other OER materials.
Discipline-specific OERs, including textbooks, presentations, assignments, courses and more. Postsecondary focus. All content is peer-reviewed.
Discipline-specific OERS, including textbooks, lectures, assignments, courses, and more. Elementary, middle, high school and postsecondary. Click Discover > Collections to explore resources in your discipline.
SOL*R (Shareable Online Learning Resources)
Textbooks, courses, and tools and technologies, compiled by BCcampus.
Discipline-specific OERs for K-12 and postsecondary education. Advanced searches by audience or learning resource type.
Almost all MIT course material, including reading lists, lecture notes, and assignments. Over 2400 courses available. Note: selected readings are not open; reading lists link out to Amazon listing.
Open Course Library
Syllabi, learning activities, reading lists, and assessments for Washington's 81 highest enrolled college courses. Some required readings from low cost textbooks ($30 USD or less).
Nearly 100 full-length courses at college and professional levels. Most content created by Saylor Academy is licensed for reuse (excluding final exams).
Learning objects are resources designed to enrich education (e.g. assignments, audiovisual material).
Videos, animations and simulations in core academic areas. Middle school, high school and postsecondary.
Over 2500 learning objects, including assessments, animations, simulations, case studies, drills/practices and templates.
Community of Online Research Assignments (CORA)
Research and information literacy assignments, adaptable across disciplines.
Virtual labs, learning activities, and concept tests.
Interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena.
Search multiple sources quickly
Hard-back OpenStax books come to Canada
Canadian textbook distributor, Vretta, is now taking orders for many of the OpenStax books hosted in the BC Open Textbook Collection. Their order page lists: a pricelist, refund policy, and bulk order discount for organizations and individuals who order 10 or more books.
Buyers may also purchase these books through Amazon.ca. Look for Vretta as the distributor.
Finding OER - VCC Library Video
Evaluate and adopt an OER
If you are using an open textbook:
If you are using any OER:
Need a textbook? Start with BCcampus
, Design (Drafting, Fashion, Gemmology,Hair, Graphic, Interior, Jewellery, Skin and Body Therapy
, Music & Dance
, OER - Open Educational Resources
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License