Counselling Skills:: Websites

A medical specialty society recognized world-wide, working to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.

A scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 148,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.

A society of regulated Clinical Counsellors dedicated to providing the highest standard of professional counselling, consulting, assessment, testing and training services.

A professional association that represents psychologists in B. C. It is a voluntary body and is committed to advancing psychology and the interests of psychologists.

An association which advocates for the profession and provides opportunities for certification and professional development.

The national non-profit organization that promotes mental health and recovery. This site offers patient education material on mental health disorders.

A non-profit society representing Registered Professional Counsellors and Master Practioners of Counselling Pyschology.

The Canadian organization representing psychologists.

One of 27 components of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the U.S. Federal government's principal biomedical and behavioral research agency.

The federal department responsible for helping the people of Canada maintain and improve their health.

Canada's largest mental health and addiction teaching hospital.

A directory of more than 350 professional psychologists, counselors and other therapists in the Lower Mainland and BC.

BC’s Information Service for Children, Youth and Families. Links to resources for mental health professionals supporting children and their families and links to patient education brochures.

Find reports and statistics - Violence Against Women section contains reports on spousal abuse and child abuse in Canada.

The Crime Victim Assistance Program assists victims of violent offences, their immediate family members and some witnesses in coping with the effects of the offence by providing benefits to help offset their financial costs and assist in their recovery.

Public Health Agency /WHO reports on abuse, neglect and addiction concerning children and youth.

Comprehensive handbook for those working with adult victims of crime.

Provides local resources, DVDs, brochures on anxiety for all ages. Includes links for parents on how to cope and discuss anxiety disorders with their children and youth.

An online research library and information centre shared by stakeholders including government representatives, service providers, researchers and the public. Click on 'Library' for a constantly updated (and searchable) list of resources which includes research reports and eBooks.