LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Resources for Open Education

Getting Started?

The OER Starter Kit
This starter kit has been created to provide instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER). The text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER.

BCcampus Open Education: Frequently Asked Questions
This resource contains a collection of questions that BCcampus gets asked frequently and their answers. It is a great starting point for people new to open education and looking for help.
BCcampus Open Education: Information Directory
The Information Directory lays out current news, opinions, and research related to open education. The directory focuses on Canadian content but also includes information from other countries. This directory is updated regularly as new content is found.
BCcampus Open Education: Post-Secondary Directory
The Post-Secondary Directory outlines open-related activity and support available at each public post-secondary institution in British Columbia. It acts as a resource for faculty and BCcampus to help everyone stay on top of open in B.C. and know where there is help available in open education.
BCcampus Open Education: Working Group Guide
The Working Group Guide is a resource for librarians, staff, and faculty who support open education at their institution and are starting or already running an open working group. It also contains a sprint toolkit for OER creation.

BC Open Textbook Collection
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is curated by BCcampus and contains over 270 open textbooks available for adoption and adaptation.
BCcampus Open Education: OER by Discipline Guide
The OER by Discipline Guide was developed to highlight as many OER as possible—case studies, courses, games, repositories, simulations, textbooks, videos, and more—and is organized by subject area. It also lists other OER repositories. This guide supplements the B.C. Open Textbook Collection and is updated regularly as new resources are identified.

Pressbooks
Pressbooks is a self-publishing platform based on WordPress used to publish open textbooks. BCcampus hosts an instance of Pressbooks available for free to all B.C. post-secondary faculty.

BCcampus Open Education: Pressbooks Guide
The Pressbooks Guide provides support for faculty authoring open textbooks using the pressbooks.bccampus.ca instance of Pressbooks and is designed to compliment the more comprehensive Pressbooks User Guide.

Pressbooks Video Tutorial Series
The Pressbooks Video Tutorial Series is a collection of over thirty tutorial videos to support faculty in B.C. using Pressbooks. The videos are short and organized by topic, so it is easy to find a video for a specific problem. These videos should be useful to those learning how to use Pressbooks and for those who have questions about a specific feature.

BCcampus Open Education: Self-Publishing Guide
The Self-Publishing Guide is a reference for individuals or groups wanting to write and self-publish an open textbook. This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, publication, and maintenance of an open textbook.
BCcampus Open Education: Accessibility Toolkit
The Accessibility Toolkit is designed to support open textbook authors—and others involved in writing and publishing—to create a truly open and accessible textbook for students with disabilities. It also includes specific information on how to create an accessible textbook in Pressbooks.
BCcampus Open Education: Adoption Guide
The Adoption Guide provides support for faculty who are considering adopting an open textbook. It also includes resources for tracking adoptions at your institution. This guide is currently being updated and is open for feedback.
BCcampus Open Education: Adaptation Guide
The Adaptation Guide provides information on how to customize—or adapt—an open textbook so that it better fits an instructor’s needs in the classroom and elsewhere. This guide is currently being updated and is open for feedback.

Rebus Community Resources
Offering several resources, including the award-winning A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with Students and our ongoing Rebus Guide to Publishing Open Textbooks (So Far), along with its accompanying video series on YouTube.