Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Institute of Mental Health
One of 27 components of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the U.S. Federal government's principal biomedical and behavioral research agency.
The federal department responsible for helping the people of Canada maintain and improve their health.
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
Canada's largest mental health and addiction teaching hospital.
A directory of more than 350 professional psychologists, counselors and other therapists in the Lower Mainland and BC.
Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre
BC’s Information Service for Children, Youth and Families. Links to resources for mental health professionals supporting children and their families and links to patient education brochures.
Issue Based Websites
Status of Women in Canada Resource Centre
Find reports and statistics - Violence Against Women section contains reports on spousal abuse and child abuse in Canada.
The Crime Victim Assistance Program assists victims of violent offences, their immediate family members and some witnesses in coping with the effects of the offence by providing benefits to help offset their financial costs and assist in their recovery.
Stop Family Violence
Public Health Agency /WHO reports on abuse, neglect and addiction concerning children and youth.
Victim Service Worker Handbook
Comprehensive handbook for those working with adult victims of crime.
Provides local resources, DVDs, brochures on anxiety for all ages. Includes links for parents on how to cope and discuss anxiety disorders with their children and youth.
The Homeless Hub
An online research library and information centre shared by stakeholders including government representatives, service providers, researchers and the public. Click on 'Library' for a constantly updated (and searchable) list of resources which includes research reports and eBooks.
Web Search Tips
- Search for exact phrases, like "VCC Library"
- Limit searches to domains (like .edu, .org, .ca)
- Search for keywords in the title or URL only
Evaluate your websites. Make sure your sources are trustworthy.
- Who wrote it?
- What is the website about?
- When was it created or updated?
- Where does it come from - government, business, university or college?
- Why was it created - to sell a product, to provide opinions, to educate?
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License