LibGuides: CAD and BIM Technologies: OERs

DRFT 1010: CAD Drafting Fundamentals

Introduction to Drafting and AutoCAD 2D
Author: Wally Baumback, VCC
Introduction to Drafting and Autodesk Inventor
Author: Wally Baumback, VCC
Basic Blueprint Reading
Author: Ric Costin, Linn-Benton Community College
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources

DRFT 1012: Office & Construct Site Safety

Canadian Health and Safety Workplace Fundamentals
Author: Connie Palmer
Publisher: Fanshawe College
Health and Safety in Canadian Workplaces
Authors: Jason Foster and Bob Barnetson
Publisher: Athabasca University Press
Workplace Safety for US Workers: A Practical Guide for Understanding Safety and Health Programs for Skilled Labor Professionals
Author: Kimberly Mosley
Publisher: Long Beach City College via ASCCC Open Educational Resources Initiative
Workplace Safety for US Workers: Workbook
Author: Kimberly Mosley
Publisher: Long Beach City College via ASCCC Open Educational Resources Initiative (OERI)
Building Maintenance & Construction: Tools and Maintenance Tasks
Author: Clifford Rutherford
Publisher: University of Hawai’i Maui College
Industrial & Pipe Trade Safety for Beginners
Author: rosem

DRFT 1013: Construction Mathematics

Math for Trades: Volume 1
Authors: Chad Flinn and Mark Overgaard
Publisher: BCcampus
Math for Trades: Volume 2
Author: Chad Flinn and Mark Overgaard
Publisher: BCcampus

DRFT 1226: Construction Drawing Reading

Basic Blueprint Reading
Author: Ric Costin, Linn-Benton Community College
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
Interpretation of Metal Fab Drawings
Author: Cameren Moran
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources

DRFT 1256: Plumbing Systems for Buildings

Part 4: Plumbing Systems
From: Building Maintenance & Construction: Tools and Maintenance Tasks
Author: Clifford Rutherford
Cross Connection Control for Plumbing and Piping Trades: Plumber Apprenticeship Program Level 3
Author: Richard V. Mawle RSE, Camosun College

DRFT 1257: Electrical Systems for Buildings

Part 5: Electrical Systems
From: Building Maintenance & Construction: Tools and Maintenance Tasks
Author: Clifford Rutherford
Line E - Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-1: Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity
Author: Camosun College
Line E - Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-2: Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols
Author: Camosun College
Line E - Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-3: Explain Wiring Connections
Author: Camosun College
Line E - Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-4: Use Multimeters
Author: Camosun College
DC Electrical Circuit Analysis: A Practical Approach
Author: James M. Fiore, Mohawk Valley Community College
AC Electrical Circuit Analysis: A Practical Approach
Author: James M. Fiore, Mohawk Valley Community College

DRFT 1259: HVAC Systems for Buildings

Basic HVAC
Author: Aaron Lee
Publisher: BCcampus

Looking for more?

Looking for more OERs? Try searching in the VCC Open Educational Resources Subject Guide!

OER by Department
by McKenzie Young Last Updated Nov 22, 2024 1073 views this year
Open Educational Resources
by McKenzie Young Last Updated Nov 22, 2024 542 views this year

DRFT 1278: Drawing Plan Reading

Basic Blueprint Reading
Author: Ric Costin, Linn-Benton Community College
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources
Interpretation of Metal Fab Drawings
Author: Cameren Moran
Publisher: Open Oregon Educational Resources

DRFT 1281: Autodesk Civil 3D

Introduction to Drafting and AutoCAD 3D
Author: Wally Baumback, VCC

DRFT 1282: Road Alignment Detailing

Chapter 11: Roadway Infrastructure
From: Fundamentals of Infrastructure Management
Authors: Donald Coffelt and Chris Hendrickson, Carnegie Mellon University

DRFT 1326: Job Search Skills

Chapter 7: Job-Search Strategies
From: Trades Access Common Core Competency B-2: Describe Expectations and Responsibilities of Employers and Employees – 2nd Edition
Author: Camosun College
Publisher: BCcampus
Professional Business Practice: Essentials Skills for Success in the Canadian Business Environment
Author: Lucinda Atwood

DRFT 1282: Road Alignment Detailing

Chapter 11: Roadway Infrastructure
From: Fundamentals of Infrastructure Management
Authors: Donald Coffelt and Chris Hendrickson, Carnegie Mellon University

DRFT 1332: Professional Preparation

Chapter 7: Job-Search Strategies
From: Trades Access Common Core Competency B-2: Describe Expectations and Responsibilities of Employers and Employees – 2nd Edition
Author: Camosun College
Publisher: BCcampus
Professional Business Practice: Essentials Skills for Success in the Canadian Business Environment
Author: Lucinda Atwood

DRFT 1374: Introduction to 3D and BIM

BIM Project Execution Planning Guide, Version 3.0
Authors: John Messner, et al.
Publisher: Penn State
The Uses of BIM: Classifying and Selecting BIM Uses
Authors: Ralph Kreider and John Messner
Publisher: Penn State
Building Information - Representation and Management: Principles and Foundations for the Digital Era
Author: Alexander Koutamanis
Publisher: TU Delft OPEN

Miscellaneous Textbooks

BIM Planning for Facility Owners
Publisher: CIC Research Group, Penn State
Delftse Foundations of Computation
Authors: Author: Stefan Hugtenburg and Neil Yorke-Smith
Publisher: Delft University of Technology
Embedded Controllers using C and Arduino
Author: James Fiore, Mohawk Valley Community College
A Brief Introduction to Engineering Computation with MATLAB
Author: Serhat Beyenir, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Publisher: OpenStax CNX
Tutorials of Visual Graphic Communication Programs for Interior Design
Author: Yongyeon Cho
Publisher: Iowa State University Digital Press
more...less...
"This book is for the beginning level of both architecture and interior design students who learn computer graphic communication software. The author developed multiple tutorials to teach three computer graphic applications, AutoCAD, Revit, and Enscape. AutoCAD is an essential computer drafting software which is 2D drawing software. Revit is a Building Information Modeling software, which is 3D based modeling software. Lastly, Enscape is a real-time rendering, animation, and virtual reality plug-in for users' 4D experiences."

MIT OpenCourseWare

Introduction to Design Computing
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Author: Lawrence Sass.
Includes: Syllabus, lecture notes, recitations, assignments, and projects.
more...less...
This course will introduce students to architectural design and computation through the use of computer modeling, rendering and digital fabrication. The course focuses on teaching architectural design with CAD drawing, 3-D modeling, rendering and rapid prototyping.
Architectural Construction and Computation
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors: Joel Turkel and Lawrence Sass.
Includes: Syllabus, labs, and assignments.
more...less...
This class investigates the use of computers in architectural design and construction. It begins with a pre-prepared design computer model, which is used for testing and process investigation in construction. It then explores the process of construction from all sides of the practice: detail design, structural design, and both legal and computational issues.
Introduction to the History and Theory of Architecture
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors:Mark Jarzombek.
Includes: Syllabus, readings, lecture notes, assignments, study materials, and quizzes.
more...less...
This course is a global-oriented survey of the history of architecture, from the prehistoric to the sixteenth century. It treats buildings and environments, including cities, in the context of the cultural and civilizational history. It offers an introduction to design principles and analysis.
Introduction to Building Technology
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors: Marilyne Andersen.
Includes: Syllabus, lecture notes, assignments, exams, and projects.
more...less...
The course aims at providing a fundamental understanding of the physics related to buildings and to propose an overview of the various issues that have to be adequately combined to offer the occupants a physical, functional and psychological well-being.
Environmental Technologies in Buildings
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors: Christoph Reinhart.
Includes: Syllabus, software and bibliography, lecture slides, and assignments.
more...less...
This course focuses on the thermal, luminous, and acoustic behavior of buildings, examining the basic scientific principles underlying these phenomena and introducing students to technologies and analysis techniques for designing comfortable indoor environments.
Fundamentals of Energy in Buildings
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors: Leon Glicksman.
Includes: Syllabus, readings, assignments, and exams.
more...less...
This design-based subject provides a first course in energy and thermo-sciences with applications to sustainable energy-efficient architecture and building technology. No previous experience with subject matter is assumed. After taking this subject, students will understand introductory thermodynamics and heat transfer, know the leading order factors in building energy use, and have creatively employed their understanding of energy fundamentals and knowledge of building energy use in innovative building design projects.
Digital Mock-Up Workshop
Publisher: MIT OpenCourseWare.
Authors: Lawrence Sass.
Includes: Syllabus, assignments, and projects.
more...less...
This is an advanced subject in computer modeling and CAD CAM fabrication, with a focus on building large-scale prototypes and digital mock-ups within a classroom setting.