Skip to Main Content

ASL & Deaf Studies: General

Library and online resources for researching American Sign Language and Deaf Studies

Cover image. Illustration of broken egg.

Introduction to Deaf Culture 2nd ed.

Broadway: HV 2380 H66 2023

Signed Language Corpora

Broadway: P 117 S54 2022 or eBook

Everything That Hurt Us Becomes a Ghost

Broadway PS 3618 A936 E94 2023 or eBook.

Dictionaries

See the 'books' page of this guide or search the catalogue for more recent purchases.

The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator); Clayton Valli (Editor)
Call Number: HV 2475 G35 2005 (Broadway)
The Canadian Dictionary of ASL by Kathy Dolby (Editor); Carole Sue Bailey (Editor); Charmaine Letourneau (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV 2475 C36 2002 (Broadway)
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by Emily Shaw; Yves Delaporte; Carole Marion (Illustrator)
Call Number: HV 2475 S522 2015 (Broadway)

Resources

Academic Journal and Magazine Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Sociology database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

Deaf Linx
Thousands of links on Deaf culture and ASL, including Deaf communities, history, vlogging, assistive technology, the law and education.

Your VCC Librarian

Kristina Oldenburg

Email Me

Contact:

Library, Broadway Campus

Subjects: ASL, Deaf & Visually Impaired, Automotive & Heavy Duty Transport, Basic Education, Deaf & Hard of Hearing, EAL (LINC & Pathways), eBooks, Education, Family Literacy, Interpreting, Legal Assistant & Paralegal, Office Administration, Sociology, Visually Impaired, Zotero

Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License