LibGuides: Health Unit Coordinator: Top 5

Laboratory Tests

Lab Tests Online
Web based resource produced by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. You can search for descriptions about various lab tests as well as information about conditions or diseases.
Research Starters: Laboratory tests (Magill's Medical Guide)
Provides an overview that can be listened to as well as read.
eLab Handbook (Provincial Health Services Authority BC)
Online searchable tool for laboratory tests.
Understanding Lab Test Results (HealthLinkBC)
General information about laboratory tests, why it is done, what affects tests and links to types of tests.

Website includes a listing of medical abbreviations that you can look up and see the expanded form.

It is also a searchable website providing information on medical topics and health issues as well as drug information.

Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, information is presented in language for consumers and updated monthly.

Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Services (CPS) This link opens in a new window
CPS (formerly RxTx) provides access to CPS and CPhA peer-reviewed monographs, therapeutic choices, drug tables/choices, a drug interaction checker, Health Canada advisories and recalls, etc. It is updated weekly.

Merck Manual Professional Version
Provides information on medical topics, drug information, news, videos of a number of health procedures and offers quizzes.

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on health and medicine from more popular magazines and journals. More general information.

Public Health Agency of Canada
Provides links to public health notices, infectious diseases, chronic diseases and food safety.

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Broadway Campus, Room 2015

604.871.7000 ext.7319

mavera@vcc.ca

Subjects: Business, Career & Job Hunting, Community and Career Education (CACE), Health, Indigenous People, Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, LGBTQ+, Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) & Math