Skip to main content

Going online: Library support during COVID-19: For Faculty

Embedding library resources into your online course & Moodle site

This guide has been developed to help you provide online course materials for your students using our subscription databases to over 50 online databases, which provides access to journals, magazines, newspapers, streaming videos, and eBooks.  The library can help you get started by finding, linking, or embedding resources that we have licensed for student use, or that are free to use under an Open Access or Creative Commons license.

For questions about subject specific library resources to support your online courses, please consult your liaison librarian.

AskAway

Chat loading...

Featured eBooks

Journal Articles

  • Databases by Subject: Search our databases by subject to find articles, images, literacy criticism, music, reports, case studies, recipes and more
  • Article databases: An A-Z list of databases by name 

Linking an Article:

  • Once you find an article you like it is possible to link to that specific article within your Moodle course or an e-mail. All our databases provide a permanent link option. 
    • Go to the "Detailed Record" view of your article.
    • Under the Tools menu on the right hand side of the screen there is a Permalink option.
    • Once selected, the Permalink URL will appear at the top of the record. This is the URL you will need to copy and use.

eBooks and Textbooks

eBooks: eBooks can be an accessible alternative to the library's available textbooks. You can look for eBooks in our catalogue by refining the search by Resource Type and selecting eBook.

undefined

NOTE: Different publishers and vendors have different restrictions about the number of simultaneous users, the amount of printing and downloading allowed, etc. Please contact your liaison librarian to enquire about a specific title.

  • Linking an eBook from one of VCC's databases works the same as linking an article. 

Open Educational ResourcesOpen textbooks are available to students free of cost in digital formats. Many open textbooks are accompanied with ancillary resources such as question banks, slides, instructor manuals, and adaptive quizzing platforms. To learn more about Open Education Resources please look at our guide and talk to your liaison librarian.

Streaming Videos

VCC has access to a number of online streaming video services including Films on Demand, Kanopy, National Film Board, and Curio. You can access them through the library homepage.

To learn more about available streaming services please look at our guide.

If you want to share a video with your students you can provide a link or embed the videos. 

  • Each service has a different layout but the button to select is labeled "Share". 
  • Once selected, a new dialogue box opens up with options to email or message the video as well as easily copied permanent links and code to allow you to embed the video in your Moodle course.

Here is what it looks like on Films On Demand:

Plagiarism

VCC has a comprehensive guide to understanding plagiarism. Including videos, activities, and resources to help detect plagiarism.

ProQuest Research Companion is a new, intuitive, and self-guided product that effortlessly guides students through the research process. Within it are modules on plagiarism and citing your sources that your students can complete.

Copyright

Would you like to request copyright permission to use a resource in your class? Are you uncertain about whether you need permission? Submit your request using the REQUEST COPYRIGHT PERMISSION. For an comprehensive overview of copyright at VCC please see our guide. 

If you have any specific questions contact our copyright librarian Virginia Adams.

AskAway Widget

If your course involves some type of research assignment, you can integrate research help in your Moodle course via AskAway by adding the following code either as a widget or straight html code:

<!-- Place this div in your web page where you want your chat widget to appear. -->
<div class="needs-js">Chat loading...</div>
 
<!-- Place this script as near to the end of your BODY as possible. -->
<script type="text/javascript">
 (function() {
   var x = document.createElement("script"); x.type = "text/javascript"; x.async = true;
   x.src = (document.location.protocol === "https:" ? "https://" : "http://") + "ca.libraryh3lp.com/js/libraryh3lp.js?816";
   var y = document.getElementsByTagName("script")[0]; y.parentNode.insertBefore(x, y);
 })();
</script>

undefined

Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License