Revitalizing Indigenous Languages: Tools & Apps for Language Learning

Discover 21 topics of conversation in Blackfoot, featuring speakers from several communities in Alberta, Canada.

Created by the Stone Child College, which tresses the importance of preserving the Chippewa Cree language, culture and history. This app includes 3 levels of games and 3 types of quizzes.

This app has been made possible by the Government of Northwest Territories - Department of Education, Culture and Employment. There are 25 useful daily categories with beautiful pictures and Cree spellings. The voice on the app was recorded by a Cree Native speaker. After you learn the language, there are 3 different games and 3 types of quizzes for you to practice.

Time to put your knowledge of the Cree Language to the test! In these exercises, you will be given a word or phrase and challenged to match it to its corresponding word or phrase from the options down below. Created by the Stone Child College

This collection of storybooks, with spoken-word and text, provides the tools by which one may rediscover and practice their language. This project was developed by the South Slave Divisional Education Council with funding provided by the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Michif Lessons contains over 60 exercises to learn over 1000 Michif words. Categories range from Numbers, Months, Animals, Weather, the Body, Love, and more!

Michif is the endangered orally-based language of the Métis people. Perhaps only 5-10% of the population are able to speak the language, with the majority being elders. The Gabriel Dumont Institute's mandate is to promote and preserve Métis culture and therefore has been developing resources such as this dictionary that allow people to hear and read the language.

Okii! Piikani Child and Family Services in Brocket, Alberta is proud to present version 2.0 of the 'Piikani Paitapiiyssin' Learning Application. The current version of this app contains 300+ Blackfoot words, translations, phonics, and audio files. We've also included rich cultural learning on Piikani Clans, Piikani Symbols, the Winter Count, along with a new section which includes Piikani Sign Language with videos.

The Stoney Language Dictionary is designed to preserve, protect and carry forward the Stoney language from generation to generation. Through the wisdom and guidance from the Elders of the Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation, the dictionary is continually being updated with new words and definitions to help preserve the Stoney language for generations to come.

Discover 21 topics of conversation in Blackfoot, featuring speakers from several communities in Alberta, Canada.

Michif is the endangered orally-based language of the Métis people. Perhaps only 5-10% of the population are able to speak the language, with the majority being elders. The Gabriel Dumont Institute's mandate is to promote and preserve Métis culture and therefore has been developing resources such as this dictionary that allow people to hear and read the language.

Learn the Cree Language (Little Red River Reserve Woodland Cree Dialect) by reviewing over 1000 word cards in 26 subjects with associated voice audio. Review and test your knowledge by playing one of three games of various difficulty.

Michif Lessons contains over 60 exercises to learn over 1000 Michif words. Categories range from Numbers, Months, Animals, Weather, the Body, Love, and more!

Discover 21 topics of conversation in Plains Cree, featuring speakers from several communities in Saskatchewan, Canada.

The Stoney Language Dictionary aims to bring the Stoney language into the modern age. Working closely with the Elders of the Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation, the dictionary contains thousands of words and is continually being updated with new words and definitions to help preserve the Stoney language and pass it on to the younger generations.