Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HOSP 4261 - Brand Management, 4620 New Media Customer Engagement and SMBU 1102 Market Your Business: HOSP 4261 Brand Management

Resources for HOSP 4261 Brand Management, HOSP 4620 New Media Customer Engagement and SMBU 1102 Market Your Business

Featured Books

Websites for Brand Management

Advertising and Brands

Materials @ the Library

Here are some popular subject searches in the VCC online catalogue organized by Human Resources Topics. Click on them and they will take you to a list of library materials about that topic

Course Readings

Students will come prepared each week to discuss current events, knowledgeable about branding.

Reference Texts

Reference Articles

BRAND choice

(2009). Understanding Consumer Motivations. Foodservice & Hospitality, 42(7), 12. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Olsen, M., Yeasun, C., Graf, N., Kyuho, L., & Madanoglu, M. (2005). Branding: Myth and reality in the hotel industry. Journal of Retail & Leisure Property, 4(2), 146-162. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

BRAND image

(2008). A Modified Brand Personality Scale for the Restaurant Industry. Journal of Hospitality Marketing & Management, 16(4), 303-323. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Cobe, P. (2006). MENU? CHECK. LOCATION? CHECK. STAFF? CHECK. NAME? HMMM…. Restaurant Business, 105(3), 11-12. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Gunter, H. (2006). Emotional connections build brands. Hotel & Motel Management, 221(6), 24-27. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Watkins, E. (2006, June). It's Good Experience. Lodging Hospitality, p. 2. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

BRAND differentiation

Weaver, A. (2009). Tourism and aesthetic design: enchantment, style, and commerce. Journal of Tourism & Cultural Change, 7(3), 179-189. doi:10.1080/14766820903259493.

Bouncken, R., Pick, C., & Hipp, C. (2005). Standardization and Individualization Strategies of Hotel Brands: Matching Strategy to Quality Management Instruments and Marketing in Germany. Journal of Hospitality & Leisure Marketing, 13(3/4), 29-51. doi:10.1300/J150v13n03̱03.

BRAND name products

Jackson, L., & Naipaul, S. (2008). Isadore Sharp & Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts: Redefining Luxury and Building a Sustained Brand. Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education, 20(2), 44-50. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Jackson, L., & Hailin, Q. (2008). A Conceptual Framework for Managing Lodging Brands: A Balanced-Scorecard Approach. Journal of Quality Assurance in Hospitality & Tourism, 9(2), 108-134. doi:10.1080/15280080802235458.

BRAND loyalty

Woo Gon, K., Soojin, L., & Hae Young, L. (2007). Co-Branding and Brand Loyalty. Journal of Quality Assurance in Hospitality & Tourism, 8(2), 1-23. doi:10.1300/J162v08n02_01.

Theodore, S. (2009, March). The Value of a brand. Beverage Industry, p. 6. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Johnson, B. (2006, November 24). Building a brand is a serious business. Travel Trade Gazette UK & Ireland, p. 15. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Deveau, D. (2007). All the Small Things. Hotelier, 19(5), 31-33. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

BRAND equity

Woo Gon, K., & Hyun Jeong, K. (2007). Determinants of Mid-scale Hotel Brand Equity. FIU Hospitality Review, 25(1), 61-69. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Bailey, R., & Ball, S. (2006). An exploration of the meanings of hotel brand equity. Service Industries Journal, 26(1), 15-38. doi:10.1080/02642060500358761.

Melanson, J. (2002). Brand Equity: A Look at the Customer's Role. Lodging Hospitality, 58(6), 33. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Wolff, C. (2005). How to Value a Brand. Lodging Hospitality, 61(4), 44-46. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Prévot, A. (2009). THE EFFECTS OF GUERILLA MARKETING ON BRAND EQUITY. Consortium Journal of Hospitality & Tourism, 13(2), 33-40. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

BRAND strategy

O'NEILL, J., & MATTILA, A. (2010). Hotel Brand Strategy. Cornell Hospitality Quarterly, 51(1), 27-34. doi:10.1177/1938965509352286.

Nykiel, R. (1997). Brand marketing paramount to success. Hotel & Motel Management, 212(17), 22. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Asset management

(2008). Thriving in an On-Hold Market. Lodging Hospitality, 64(10), 18. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Watkins, E. (2004). Guardian Angels. Lodging Hospitality, 60(7), 56-62. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Chapman, P. (2006). Exit-Strategy Gurus. National Real Estate Investor, 48(1), 39-42. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Adams, B. (2006). Consider the Package. Lodging Hospitality, 62(14), 58-61. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Higgins, S. (2007). Panel: Mixed use gets it done. (Cover story). Hotel & Motel Management, 222(13), 1-25. Retrieved from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

Your Librarian

Alicia Copp's picture
Alicia Copp
Contact:
Downtown Campus, Room 242H

acopp@vcc.ca
604-871-7000, ext.8641

Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License