Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Easily searched recipe collection that contains 16,000+ recipes from Gourmet, Bon Appétit, House and Garden, plus a food dictionary, and restaurant reviews.
"Your Guide to What's Cooking on the Net" includes 20,000+ recipes; cooking news; kitchen equipment information, cookbook reviews, menus, newsletters and message boards.
Archive of approximately 68,000 recipes including recipes from 62 regions & ethnic groups.
General Websites and Gateways
Baker's Percentage (kingarthurflour)
The baker's percentage explained; different uses of it for determining formula weights
A series of calculators that every chef needs: recipe cost, true cost, selling price, and how much to order. Other helpful links on working as a chef in the industry.
Home of Americas test kitchen has links for magazine, bookstore and TV show. Also includes resources, bulletin board, cookbook references, FAQ, testing lab.
Articles, recipes, links and more.
This website represents a company producing documentaries on the food industry with the objective of educating people about the world of food.
O'Dell Restaurant Consulting blog article on food costing. Other relevant articles like menu pricing, lowering food costs, and menu changes.
Food cost management
A review of food cost management and common problems that result in poor food cost.
The Food Network
Canadian site with recipes, featured TV shows, and links. Links to culinary web resources, culinary education and scholarship information and culinary career centre.
"A Gastronomic and Gourmet Cooking Resource since 1995" includes techniques & guides, food industry news, professional food service links, and links to "serious food information" from includes techniques & guides, food industry news, professional food service links, and links to "serious food information" from government and research institutions.
Pastry Chef Online
Includes some basic pastry glossary terms, explanation of ingredient functions, mixing methods, basic recipes
Professional Baker's Recipe Template
This is a very helpful Professional Baker's Recipe Template which is easy to scale. There is also an instructional video which details how to use the recipe template.
Video on food costing in a restaurant and how to calculate food cost percentage.
The Vegetarian Resource Group
Vegetarian Foods for Food Service (Quantity Cooking) Information. Contains vegetarian recipes, nutritional information, vegan cookbooks, and excerpts from Vegetarian Times.
Zagat Restaurant Survey
On line ratings and reviews of restaurants and reports about new restaurants. International in scope.
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License