LibGuides: PIDP: Articles & Databases

Never Searched a Database?

Article databases are a critical resource for academic research. They are the primary way of finding full-text scholarly journal articles.

See an example of a database search
Learn about Finding Articles in VCC's Online Databases

Journal Titles

Search for all journals at VCC

Top Education Databases

These online articles databases will be the most useful for research on Education. You can also see the complete list of VCC's databases, covering a wide range of subjects. Use the online databases to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

The articles you find will either be in full-text (read them online), or a citation (bibliographic information). If only the citation is available, click on the "Where Can I Get This Link?" that will display in the summary of the article; this will allow you to request the article from another academic library through our Interlibrary Loans service.

**************************

Access From Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Default Password (your birthday in MMDDYY format) to access from home.

ERIC (Education) Index This link opens in a new window
Lists education journals, articles and documents. Very little full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly peer-reviewed articles from nearly 100 journals in psychology.

Additional Education Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, and images, from the humanities, social sciences, and science fields. Jstor is perfect for English, Music, Sociology, and Psychology research.
MAS Ultra (School Edition) This link opens in a new window
Information on a wide range of general and current topics. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology.
The Encyclopedia of Educational Technology (EET) is a collection of short multimedia articles on a variety of topics related to the fields of instructional design and education and training. The primary audiences for the EET are students and novice to intermediate practitioners in these fields, who need a brief overview as a starting point to further research on specific topics.

Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book, journal article or video for your assignments that isn't available at VCC Library, we will try to get it from another library through our free Interlibrary Loan service (ILL).

Books usually arrive in less than 10 days. Journal articles usually take 1-3 working days. (Distance learners, it will usually take longer, as we have to ship the material to you).

Please see Get It From Other Libraries (ILL) for the online request forms and additional information.