LibGuides: Fashion Arts: Fashion Museums

Featured

16 Best Fashion Museums in the World
List by Sarah Stodola and Lilit Marcus, published in 2015 in the Conde Nast Traveler
Cristóbal Balenciaga Museoa
Spain. Houses over 1,600 of Balenciaga's creations.
Museo Salvatore Ferragamo
Florence, Italy. Features Ferragamo's shoes from 1927-1960. Focuses on craftsmanship, colour, materials, and Ferragamo's collaboration with other artists.
Musée Yves Saint Laurent
Paris, France. Guided tours through the salon and studio, which include sketches, accessories, and articles of clothing
Gucci Museo
Florence, Italy. Extensive collection dating as far back as Gucci's beginnings as a master saddler
Musée Christian Dior
Normandy, France. Features a collection of clothes, accessories, and drawings by Dior
SMOC Virtual Museum
Society for the Museum of Original Costume

FIDM Museum & Galleries
Los Angeles, USA
Houses a significant collection of over 10000 costumes, accessories, and textiles from the 18th Century through the present day, including film and theater costumes. Often showcases designs from the latest Hollywood movies
Kent State University Museum
Kent, Ohio
The Metropolitan Museum of Art – The Costume Institute
New York, USA
The Costume Institute houses a collection of more than 30,000 costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries
Mint Museum – Fashion Collection
Charlotte, North Carolina
The Museum at FIT
New York, USA
Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture
Washington, DC. See topic: "Clothing and Dress."

ModeMuseum
Antwerp, Belgium
more...less...
No fixed arrangement of the own collection but varying thematic exhibitions on one specific designer or a fashion-related subject, that show a selection of pieces from the collection alongside pieces on loan. The starting point for each new exhibition is an overall concept, focussing not merely on clothing but on an entire context: the designer’s various sources of inspiration, links with other art disciplines, and so on.
Museum of Costume and Lace
Brussels, Belgium
more...less...
Musee du Costume et de la Dentelle

The Victoria and Albert Museum
17th century to the present day, with emphasis on progressive and influential European designs
Fashion Museum, Bath
Bath, England
Fashion and Textile Museum
London
Manchester Art Gallery - Gallery of Costume
Manchester

Textilmuseum
St. Gallen, Switzerland
more...less...
Collection includes textiles from the second half of the 19th century.