LibGuides: LPN to BScN Transitions: Articles & Journals

Journal Titles

Health Sciences: Nursing
Directory of Open Access Nursing Journals (DOAJ) (*filter by subject for Nursing, then by language i.e., English ... you should get about 30 journal titles)
International Journal of Indigenous Health
Aboriginal Health Research Network Secretariat, Center for Indigenous Research and Community-Led Engagement, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC

Evidence-Based Nursing
Full text coverage from January, 1998 to current (delayed 12 months).

Psychiatric and Mental Health Journals

Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
Peer-reviewed research of interest to mental health and psychiatric care nurses including theory and practice.
Issues in Mental Health Nursing
Some open access articles available. Request through interlibrary loans if not freely available: https://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/interlibrary-loan/#d.en.1398020
Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing
Peer-reviewed articles focusing on child and adolescent mental health issues.
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing
Some open access articles available.
If not freely available, request through interlibrary loans: https://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/interlibrary-loan/#d.en.1398020
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services
Some open access articles available. Request through interlibrary loans if not freely available:
https://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/interlibrary-loan/#d.en.1398020
Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association
Some open access articles available. Request through interlibrary loans if not freely available:
https://library.vcc.ca/using-the-library/borrow-renew-request/interlibrary-loan/#d.en.1398020

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

VCC Library Databases

Use our online databases to search for articles and images in hundreds and thousands of magazines, journals and newspapers at one time. It's a fast and efficient way of finding useful articles for your research projects.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and allied health fields including evidence-based resources and streaming videos.
** Access Expires Oct 1, 2023
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health topics from more scholarly journals. More in-depth, scientific information
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Background articles on the core topics in health, dental, nursing and biology.
Terms of Use: http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
EBMR: Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
A definitive resource in evidence-based medicine (EBM). Combines four of the most trusted EBM resources into one database: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); ACP Journal Club; and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 journals for articles in medicine, nursing and the life sciences.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for psychology, indexing over 2500 journals. Covers mental health topics in a wide range of fields including education, medicine, sociology, business and law. Some linked full-text.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Excellent information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine the latest health news, a medical encyclopedia and interactive patient tutorials.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.

PubMed Central
Searchable database of resources organized by the National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to disorders and diseases with information on causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and drugs

Subject Guide

Mari Paz Vera

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Broadway Campus, Room 2015

604.871.7000 ext.7319

mavera@vcc.ca

Subjects: Business, Career & Job Hunting, Community and Career Education (CACE), Health, Indigenous People, Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, LGBTQ+, Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) & Math

Interlibrary Loan Tips

You can order any articles that are not available online through the library's free interlibrary loan service.

Journals usually arrive in 1-3 days. Visit our Interlibrary Loan page for more information.