LibGuides: Nursing: Articles & Journals

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

Nursing Journals

Mental Health Journals

More Journal Titles

VCC Library Databases

Search for articles & images in our online databases.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles nursing and related allied health fields.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and allied health fields including evidence-based resources and streaming videos.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health topics from more scholarly journals. More in-depth, scientific information
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Background articles on the core topics in health, dental, nursing and biology.
Terms of Use: http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
EBMR: Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
A definitive resource in evidence-based medicine (EBM). Combines four of the most trusted EBM resources into one database: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); ACP Journal Club; and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 journals for articles in medicine, nursing and the life sciences.
Canada Commons
This database provides access to thousands of Canadian e-books (fiction and non-fiction) and public policy documents. It contains many literature, health and Indigenous studies titles.

Database Searching Tips

Use these symbols for advanced searching in databases.

* for different word endings

child* will find: children, childbirth, childhood…

" " for a specific phrase in that exact order
"mental health" = mental health

OR to find any of a set of terms
vitamin OR supplement OR nutrient OR "health food"

AND to limit your search to only things with both terms
depression AND anxiety

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for psychology, indexing over 2500 journals. Covers mental health topics in a wide range of fields including education, medicine, sociology, business and law. Some linked full-text.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Excellent information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine the latest health news, a medical encyclopedia and interactive patient tutorials.

Pub Med.gov
Citations from biomedical and life science journals with some free online articles from PubMed Central and other publishers.
PubMed Central

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to disorders and diseases with information on causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and drugs

Librarian

Mari Paz Vera

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Broadway Campus, Room 2015

604.871.7000 ext.7319

mavera@vcc.ca

Subjects: Business, Career & Job Hunting, Community and Career Education (CACE), Health, Indigenous People, Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, LGBTQ+, Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) & Math

Nursing: Articles & Journals

Research Videos