Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TESOL in the Classroom
A VCC blog featuring practical information (including videos and interactive discussions) for those interested in pursuing careers in TESOL.
TESOL Resource Centre
TESOL International Association: Includes lesson plans and activities.
Teaching Perspectives Inventory
"The Teaching Perspectives Inventory [a 10-15 minute questionnaire] can help you collect your thoughts and summarize your ideas about teaching. It can be useful in examining your own teaching as well as helping clarify the teaching views of other people."
Tutela.ca is a national online repository and community for Canadian English as a Second Language (ESL) and French as a Second Language (FSL) professionals.
Designed to support language teaching assistants in the UK- plenty of resources and articles.
LangCanada.ca: L2 Educational Resource Database
Search for a range of online resource from the The Canadian Association of Second Language Teachers site.
Tiny TEFL Teacher
Includes lessons and activities for teachers.
Teacher Planet: ESL
Features different sites every week. Includes a useful page on lesson plans.
Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This site is based at Purdue University and has excellent resources for both teachers and learners, including style guide aids and plenty of handouts.
Dave's ESL Cafe - Idea Cookbook
Ideas on how to teach a range of topics
"An ESL/EFL Lesson Plan & Teaching Resource Portal"- includes a range of board games.
Lesson plans and handouts for a range of topics and levels.
Jobs, Worksheets, and Flashcards for the ESL and TEFL Teacher
Scott Thornbury's Blog - An A-Z of ELT
This blog is meant to accompany Scott Thornbury's encyclopedia entitled, An A-Z of ELT. In it, he regularly posts articles related to entries in the encyclopedia, with a view making revisions in future revisions.
Azar Grammar Teacher's Guides
Teacher's guides for the popular Betty Azar series of textbooks.
Online Teaching Tools
Quizmakers, puzzlemakers, flashcard generators and more.
Teaching with Audio / Video
English Learner Movie Guides
Includes plot summaries, vocabulary and classroom discussion questions for dozens of well-known movies.
PBS Learning Media
Extensive video sources that can be searched by student grade level. Videos come with support materials. You need to create a free account.
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License