Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Design Collections
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955
AIGA Design Archives
Online exhibitions and archives from the American Institute of Graphic Arts
CCCA Canadian Art Database
Established in 1997 to showcase Canadian artists, designers, art writers, and curators. No longer updated but still available for public use.
Cooper Hewitt Blog
Blog from the design museum of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington.
The UK's largest advertising archive, including over 1.5 million advertisements across all media.
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Search over 82,000 images. Filter by department: AFGA (Achenbach Foundation for Graphic Arts) for works of art on paper.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Try browsing the following collections: Artist Posters; Performing Arts Posters; Spanish Civil War Posters; World War I Posters; WPA Posters; Yanker Poster Collection (all under the heading Posters); and Popular Graphic Arts
Menus: The Art of Dining
Over 1,500 digitized restaurant menus dating from 1870-1930. From the University of Nevada Las Vegas Digital Collections.
National Museum of American Illustration
Collection focuses on the "Golden Age" of American illustration (1870s-1950s). See website for online exhibitions.
People’s Graphic Design Archive
A crowd-sourced virtual archive that includes everything from finished projects to process, photos, letters, oral histories, published and unpublished articles, and other supporting material
SAAM Graphic Arts
Digital collection from the Smithsonian American Art Museum
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License