Skip to main content
David Wiley on open textbooks
Kwantlen psychology professor Rajiv Jhangiani interviewed on Global TV
Open Textbook Project from BCcampus.
Adopting or adapting a textbook
Resources for Creating OER's
BCcampus Self-Publishing Guide
The BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide is a reference for individuals or groups wanting to write and self-publish an open textbook.This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, publication, and maintenance of an open textbook.
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Helps you build and publish open educational resources, lesson plans, and courses (can be used independently or collaboratively).
Easy-to-use book writing software that allows you to create a book in all the formats you need to publish.
Free for educators, this platform allows you to connect, collaborate and share information with your class, or entire academic institution.
Open Textbook Collections: Multi-discipline
A list of open textbooks curated by BCcampus.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Simultaneously search OER repositories. You need only enter text in at least one field.
College Open Textbooks
Lists open textbooks by subject, many of which have been peer reviewed.
World’s largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
OER Commons – Textbooks
"The network that brings together 48,834 OER, tools for sharing curriculum with the world, and news and training on the brave new world of open education."
“Free. Open-source. Peer-reviewed. High-quality textbooks for your college course.” American focus but texts can be tailored to course/instructor needs. Primarily science & economics.
Mainly business and economics, but includes some math, sciences, communications/writing, and US history/politics. Assembled by the Saylor Foundation.
Shareable Online Learning Resources
Small collection, but growing. Supported by BCcampus.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks on a variety of subjects created by the University of Minnesota. This collection lists more books than the BC OpenCampus project, but fewer books are reviewed.
Open Ed Resources
Canada's first official open textbook project by the government of BC led by BC Campus. Learn how to find and adopt an open textbook and demystified open licenses.
Humanities/Social science texbook collections
Education textbooks - Athabasca University
Click a book's title, and then click the Free PDF tab to download entire book or by chapter. Includes books on online pedagogy. Athabasca University Press.
Includes links to definitions and guidelines for writing Business Lettes, Case studies, Executive summaries, Memos.
Science/Health sciences textbook collections
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License