Skip to main content
Open Education Resource Repository (OERR) Rubric
The BCOER Librarians Group developed the Open Education Resource Repository (OERR) Rubric to provide a process of evaluating OER repositories. The rubric was developed to evaluate open education resources repositories (OERR) in the following areas:
- Access & Diversity
- Subject Coverage
- Search Functionality & Browsing
- Media Type
- Licensing & Permissions
The rubric sets out a definition for each area and an evaluation based on a leveled system (e.g. Level 3 – highest rating.)
Download a pdf version of the rubric: Open Education Resource Repository Rubric.
Faculty Guide for Evaluating Open Education Resources
Community of Online Research Assignments: an open access repository of research and information literacy assignments for faculty and librarians.
Creative Commons Search
Search a variety of media with Open Access licenses.
HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content on general education subjects from middle-school to college level.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a curated collection of Open Educational Resources, including textbooks. Many books include peer reviews, user reviews, or editor reviews. Users can restrict search results to textbooks only by selecting the appropriate material type. MERLOT is a program of the California State University system.
Features downloadable course materials from 2000+ Massachusetts Institute of Technology classes. No need to register. Self-paced learning.
NCLOR: The North Carolina Learning Object Repository
Provides a guest login. As a guest, you will only have access the items in the collections that have been made available to the public.
A portal for OER teaching and learning materials around the world
Open Course Library
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs.
Open Professionals Education Network: Find OER
Find openly licensed media elements to use within your courses.
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena for free.
Shareable Online Learning Resources created by BC post-secondary educators, through BCcampus.
Wisc-Online is a small, high quality digital library of Web-based learning resources.
Applied Math and Science Education Repository
"AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout."
“… a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities.”
Harvard University Library: Open Collections Program
Virtual collections that support teaching and learning. History.
National Repository of Online Courses
" a growing library of high-quality online course content for students and faculty in higher education, high school and Advanced Placement."
The Orange Grove – Florida’s Digital Repository
“… provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources.”
Public Knowledge Project
PKP is a multi-university initiative developing (free) open source software and conducting research to improve the quality and reach of scholarly publishing.
Content by Vancouver Community College Library is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License