LibGuides: Culinary Arts: Websites

Recipes

All Recipes
Popular recipes
Simply Recipes
Recipes, products and terminology
Food Network Canada
Recipes from Food Network Canada
Epicurious
Easily searched recipe collection that contains 16,000+ recipes from Gourmet, Bon Appétit, House and Garden, plus a food dictionary, and restaurant reviews

Try these specialized search engines to help you find recipes from a range of different websites that match your criteria for ingredients, diet, and more.

Yummly
Enter a search term, and then filter results by ingredients, taste, nutrition, website etc.
FoodPair
Enter a search term and then filter results by ingredients, course, etc. Become a member, and share and save recipes.
RecipeBridge
Click on 'Advanced Search' and enter keywords; delimit search by ingredients and source type.

Training and Job Information

Skilled Trades BC
Skilled Trades BC leads and coordinates British Columbia’s skilled trades system. ITA works with employers, employees, industry, labour, training providers and government to issue credentials, manage apprenticeships, set program standards, and increase opportunities in the trades.
The Culinary Institute of America
CIA is a private, not-for-profit college "dedicated to providing the world's best professional culinary education", including continuing education and e-learning courses for professional chefs.
Job Bank
Canadian government information about careers in culinary arts and general job search information.

General Websites and Gateways

Culinary.net
Articles, recipes, links and more.
Food cost management
A review of food cost management and common problems that result in poor food cost.
The Food Network
Canadian site with recipes, featured TV shows, and links. Links to culinary web resources, culinary education and scholarship information and culinary career centre.
Good Cooking
"A Gastronomic and Gourmet Cooking Resource since 1995" includes techniques & guides, food industry news, professional food service links, and links to "serious food information" from includes techniques & guides, food industry news, professional food service links, and links to "serious food information" from government and research institutions.
Just Food
Food industry news, analysis and research
Nutrition.gov
U.S. government website offering information on nutrition, food safety and food-related health conditions.
The Vegetarian Resource Group
Vegetarian Foods for Food Service (Quantity Cooking) Information. Contains vegetarian recipes, nutritional information, vegan cookbooks, and excerpts from Vegetarian Times.

Culinary Websites

David Lebovitz: Living the Sweet Life in Paris
Food52
Techniques, equipment and recipes
Kitchn
Recipes, cooking lessons, product reviews
Leite's Culinaria
"Our mission is to educate and to entertain cooks and readers of all levels who are interested in the diverse world of food"
TastingTable
"Practical cooking tips, dining advice and must-try recipes"

Associations

BC Restaurant and Foodservices Association
Advocacy and business organization focused on promoting innovation and investment in the industry from government and hosting industry events.
British Columbia Chefs' Association
The Chefs and Foodservice Association of British Columbia provides news about the Food Industry and other valuable information.
Canadian Federation of Chefs & Cooks
Geared for the professional chefs and cooks in Canada, site includes branch information, educational opportunities, conference notices, 100,000+ recipes, news, business opportunities, and job bank.
Culinary Federation
Largest professional chefs association in Canada.
International Association of Culinary Professionals
Not-for-profit association that provides continuing education and development for it’s' members who are engaged in the areas of culinary education, communication, or in preparation of food and drink.
Restaurants Canada
"voice of food service in Canada"
Women Chefs and Restaurateurs
Women Chefs & Restaurateurs promotes education and advancement of women in the restaurant industry and the betterment of the industry as a whole. The organization was formed in 1993 by eight of the U.S.’s top women chefs and restaurateurs.

Subject Guide

Todd Rowlatt

Subjects: Culinary Arts & Baking, Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Podcasts

Web Search Tips

Try using Google's Advanced Search to:

Search for exact phrases, like "VCC Library"
Limit searches to domains (like .edu, .org, .ca)
Search for keywords in the title or URL only

Evaluate your websites. Make sure your sources are trustworthy.

Who wrote it?
What is the website about?
When was it created or updated?
Where does it come from - government, business, university or college?
Why was it created - to sell a product, to provide opinions, to educate?