LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Articles & Journals

Digital Magazines

OverDrive
A collection of popular downloadable eBooks and Audiobooks. You can either download a book using an Overdrive app or read it/listen using your browser.
Flipster Digital Magazines
Get instant access to the most popular magazines through the digital platform

Journals

Child Language Teaching & Therapy (online)

Early Childhood Education Journal (online)

Early Childhood Educator (print)

Early Childhood Research and Practice (online)

International Journal of Early Years Education (online)

Language and Literacy: A Canadian Educational Journal (online)

YC Young Children (print)

* Note: some of these journals have an 'embargo' which means the latest issues are not yet available.

Access from Home

Use your VCC Login (Your student ID number) and Password (usually your birthday in MMDDYY format) to connect from home. For help, go to the Connect from Home link.

VCC Online Databases

To see the complete list of databases offered through the VCC library, click on Databases A-Z on the library homepage.

The database will provide you with a citation and abstract (short summary of the article) or the full-text (the entire article which you can read online, save, or email to yourself).

If only the citation is available, click on the "Where Can I Get This Link?" that will display in the summary of the article; this will check if we have it in another database, or allow you to request the article from another academic library through our Interlibrary Loans service.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, summaries and some full text articles from academic and popular journals covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Terms of Use http://support.epnet.com/ehost/terms.html
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian magazine and journal articles.
ERIC (Education) Index This link opens in a new window
Lists education journals, articles and documents. Very little full-text.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly peer-reviewed articles from nearly 100 journals in psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for psychology, indexing over 2500 journals. Covers mental health topics in a wide range of fields including education, medicine, sociology, business and law. Some linked full-text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles published in core health and life sciences journals.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding articles in the life sciences: nursing, dentistry, the health care system and more.